Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I LOVED this dish. I'm sure it would have been great as written, but I made a few changes and it came out really well: I diluted a can of garlic & basil pizza sauce to use in place of the tomato sauce, doubled the oregano, basil, and cumin, and added a few drops of hot sauce to the vegetable mixture. I also cooked the rice in vegetable broth instead of plain water and added 1/2 tsp. of onion powder to the broth for even more flavour. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was good, but nothing spectacular. I cooked the rice and lentils in the same pot, and instead of sprinkling the second half of the spices over top, I mixed them into the remaining tomato sauce. Instead of a fresh tomato, I used half a can of petite diced tomatoes. This has a great combination of vegetables, but I think it could benefit from a little extra tomato sauce on top, or perhaps some cayenne pepper in with the spices. Still, I thought this was pretty good, very healthy and I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I was soooo tempted to add cheese to this final product, but resisted that urge to keep it healthier. Like others suggested, I used canned tomatoes. I also put in a whole mix of veggies - broccoli, carrots, zucchini, summer squash, green beans and the onion & canned tomatoes. Super simple & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Pretty nice, but if you're using red lentils, don't cook them this long! Cooking them for 15 minutes will turn them into an orange-ish paste. 5-7 minutes of cook time in boiling water will usually suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was really nice! I didn't have the vegetables mentioned in the recipe because I've been running low, so I just used some frozen mixed vegetables in the freezer and this still turned out so well! Instead of one tomato and the tomato sauce, I just used one whole can of chopped tomatoes - half cooked with the vegetables and half on top. I also added some cheese inside and on top. It was gooo-oood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I left out the celery and added in some mushrooms, I also cooked the rice in vegetable stock instead of water. I am compiling a folder of easy vegetarian recipes for when my daughter goes to university in September. She has requested that this one definitely be included. Thankyou so much Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
After a weekend away I was looking for a recipe to use the lentils and rice that I had in the refrigerator. This was perfect! Obviously I modified the recipe using lentils and rice that had been precooked and that were left-overs from a previous meal. In addition I had left-over vegies from fajitas, and asparagus from an omelet, spaghetti sauce (homemade), and some crisp bacon. I sauteed onion, garlic, celery and carrots...added them to the lentils and rice with the chopped bacon. I seasoned them with hot sauce and dried red chili peppers since the fajita vegies weren't "Italian" seasoned. Mixed in the leftover vegies and put about 1 cup of spaghetti sauce ('gravy' in our family) on top. It was great! My husband said, "This is another one of those dishes that we can never duplicate....darn it!" Thanks for helping me clean out the refrigerator, and get dinner on the table without going to the store!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol P
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Loved this recipe. I didn't have zucchini so I substituted broccoli. I also topped it with french onions for the last five minutes of baking. It looks like some have complained that the meal was dry or didn't have enough flavor, but mine was not like that at all. I may have used more tomato sauce than called for as I didn't measure it just threw in on until it looked like enough. This will definately become a staple recipe for our vegetarian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
A keeper. Shredded cheese helped this dish a lot! Used 1 large onion. 1 cup of celery & carrots + 1.5 cups of zucchini (1 small zucchini). I used 2 8 oz cans of sauce since I used more veggies. It would have been dry if I had not. I doubled the spices. Added S&P to the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Very tasty! I used minute rice and I substituted cauliflower for the zucchini and marinara sauce for the tomato sauce, because I had those ingredients. I also crumbled up some tofu into the veggie mixture instead of using lentils because, sadly, even though I have been a vegetarian for over two years now, I cannot make lentils, per anyone's instructions. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States