Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Like many, I changed a few things: 1. I used a 14 oz can of Fire Roasted Chipotle tomatoes instead of a whole tomato + tomato sauce 2. I don't like celery or zucchini, so I replaced them with frozen peas and corn. 3. I cooked the rice and lentils in vegetable broth rather than water. Aside from that I followed it exactly and it was bursting with flavor. The best part of this recipe is that it is easily adaptable to whatever vegetables you like or have on hand. I was afraid it might be too light, but the lentils gave it bulk so it was very filling. A good meal to come home to on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The dish was very good and tasty (I did add 1/2 pound sweet cooked italian sausage). However, took almost an hour and a half to prepare to put into the oven. All that chopping is so tiresome. So, I've only given this dish 3 stars because of the length of preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We did not like this recipe at all. I followed the recipe as written, and had great expectations as the rating was so high. My husband and I were disappointed, but our 10 month old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was just ok.. I had to add cranberry sauce and creole seasoning to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Similar to another reviewer, I'm lazy. I sauted the veggies, mixed them with uncooked rice and lentils, etc... baked in the oven at 350, for about 45 minutes... It didn't really need to cook much longer, in my opinion. Good post, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I enjoyed this very much, I also tried it in a tortilla and wrapped like a burrito. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
mmm... this was so good. I just used what was around the kitchen - carrots, yellow pepper, tomato, bunch of garlic and onion, spinach and canned black beans instead of red. It turned out great!! i used olive oil instead of veggie oil and pasta sauce instead of tomato - i also suggest using more sauce than what is suggested. i also put more spices than what was called for and added cayenne pepper as well as some hot sauce to heat it up. i added mozarella cheese to half of that top and it's great with or without the cheese. yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I loved this. Better yet, my son who is vegan really liked it. I took the suggestion of a previous reviewer and cooked the rice and lentils in vegetable broth. The store was out of zucchini, so I substituted broccoli, and I used a can of seasoned diced tomatoes and seasoned tomato sauce, one 8 oz can in the casserole and one on top. Actually that is the best thing about this recipe - it is very adaptable. I am really looking forward to experimenting with different combinations. Oh, and it was even better a couple of days later as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was a delicious meatless meal for Lent. I didn't have zuchinni, so I used fresh mushrooms. I also didn't have a fresh tomato, so I used half a can of diced tomatoes including the liquid. Definitely a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
didn't have zucchini but made with the other veggies and used pizza sauce. added the extra seasoning which made it taste great. Put some mozz on it after it came out of hte oven and replaced the lid for a minute, and it was great :) easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States