Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
We are a Vegan family and this was really good but after reading reviews we doubled the spices,,, turned out GREAT... even my husband was asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Really Yummy! I'm always looking for recipes, besides soup, with lentils because they are so healthy! I didn't realize I was out of onions, so I just left that out, it probably would have been better with, but it was still great! I used marinara sauce for the tomato sauce, and added just a little part skim shredded mozzarella cheese before baking! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle2828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
One of the few recipes worthy of 5 stars - YUM-O!!!! My 16 mth old twin toddlers loved it too! Only substitution I made was adding a cup of vegetable broth to the casserole before baking. Thank you for the perfect fasting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
it was very good! i took the suggestion of mixing the second half of the sauce with the spices before pouring it on top of the veggies, also added a bit of garlic powder to that... mixed it with grated cheese on my plate, yum! i will add some hot chili sauce next time though, just to give it more of an "oomph!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
We are low-carbing so I cut out the rice and it was great. I found that an easier method was to steam whichever veggies we were using (this recipe lends itself to whichever combo of veggies you have on hand), combine with tomato sauce and transfer to a baking dish. The most recent time I made this dish I topped it with some leftover cheese sauce which made it a little like a veggie lasagne, but without the pasta and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
sub'd brown rice for the white and regular lentils for the red, and cooked them together in chicken broth instead of water. I used spaghetti sauce and canned tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce (still used the fresh tomatoes as well) really, really good. Much better than we were expecting, actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Like many, I changed a few things: 1. I used a 14 oz can of Fire Roasted Chipotle tomatoes instead of a whole tomato + tomato sauce 2. I don't like celery or zucchini, so I replaced them with frozen peas and corn. 3. I cooked the rice and lentils in vegetable broth rather than water. Aside from that I followed it exactly and it was bursting with flavor. The best part of this recipe is that it is easily adaptable to whatever vegetables you like or have on hand. I was afraid it might be too light, but the lentils gave it bulk so it was very filling. A good meal to come home to on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
The dish was very good and tasty (I did add 1/2 pound sweet cooked italian sausage). However, took almost an hour and a half to prepare to put into the oven. All that chopping is so tiresome. So, I've only given this dish 3 stars because of the length of preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We did not like this recipe at all. I followed the recipe as written, and had great expectations as the rating was so high. My husband and I were disappointed, but our 10 month old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was just ok.. I had to add cranberry sauce and creole seasoning to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States