Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was a very good recipe but I did feel that it needed tomatoes so I added some and added more tomato sauce. I also added some pepper flakes for a little spicy touch. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
After a weekend away I was looking for a recipe to use the lentils and rice that I had in the refrigerator. This was perfect! Obviously I modified the recipe using lentils and rice that had been precooked and that were left-overs from a previous meal. In addition I had left-over vegies from fajitas, and asparagus from an omelet, spaghetti sauce (homemade), and some crisp bacon. I sauteed onion, garlic, celery and carrots...added them to the lentils and rice with the chopped bacon. I seasoned them with hot sauce and dried red chili peppers since the fajita vegies weren't "Italian" seasoned. Mixed in the leftover vegies and put about 1 cup of spaghetti sauce ('gravy' in our family) on top. It was great! My husband said, "This is another one of those dishes that we can never duplicate....darn it!" Thanks for helping me clean out the refrigerator, and get dinner on the table without going to the store!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol P
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I used brown rice instead of white rice and skipped the salt. The dish turned out a little dry, but after adding 1/2 cup of tomato basil marinara, it was delicious! Hearty, healthy... and even my meat-eating boyfriend approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
It was good, but it was a little bit dry. I would add more tomato sauce more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was REALLY good. I made it exactly as written except I didn't have any celery so I used a little extra zucchini and a couple of freshly sliced mushrooms. Thank you for a great recipe - it will be in my regular rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Yum! I had to alter this recipe based on what I had on hand (green lentils, brown rice and for veggies: carrots, parsnips, tomatoes, zucchini, broccoli and mushrooms- not a veg, I know), however my boyfriend and I both really liked it. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Thank you! My husband and I LOVED IT!! And he is a meat eater but he said he was very satisfied when he was done. I added mushrooms and red peppers just because I had that in my fridge too. I did not bake mine though. I just cooked the veggies in a pan separate and tossed it all together and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking4-3Guys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Yummy! Next time I will up the amount of veggies to make it an even more nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
im a college student and this was cheap and easy to throw together in the pan. im not big on measuring and like to get the most nutritional value so i used a whole zucchini, and twice as many carrots (i didnt have celery on hand) and just eyeballed the herbs/seasoned to taste could have cooked a bit longer, and used more pasta sauce. i also threw in some crushed red pepper flakes which added a kick. I'm a vegetarian and added a pack of the "smart taste" sausage which i browned before adding. very hearty and filling while low in fat and cals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States