Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
A very healthy recipe to add to our lineup, though we did find this a bit dry as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Hubby requested this be added to the rotation :) Such a delicious dish for us gluten free vegetarians (aka weirdos - lol). I used wild rice and red lentils cooked in homemade veg broth, used more carrots and zucchini and used a 15oz can of tomato sauce instead of 8 (maybe this is why others said it was dry). Kids added moz cheese to theirs and liked it. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was good. I did add parmesan cheese on top before baking. I enjoyed it but the boys in family did notice the meat not there. Thats what happens when I try to slip one by them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe to a "t" with the exception of the zuccini and celery and it came out dry. Im not sure what I could have done to keep it from getting dry during the baking time. :/ any suggestions? It was ok. not as good as I was hoping it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Yummy! Added cheese to the top in the last 5 minutes and place under the broiler. Rave reviews, think that I might add some chopped green chillies next time for a little more kick. Thanks for a great vegetarian recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Nice flavours for such easy prep! I added a touch of grated cheese on top to give it something more and it was worth it~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
A terrific, easy and quick-to-make vegan meal. I cooked the lentils and rice in the same pot (add lentils when 8 minutes left in rice cooking time) and added garlic salt, onion powder and veggie bouillon to the water. Used a large jar of pasta sauce and skipped the tomato, added sliced green olives. I love the versatility of this dish - you can pretty well add anything you want to it. I think next time I will take one reviewers advice and top with french fried onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was a very good recipe but I did feel that it needed tomatoes so I added some and added more tomato sauce. I also added some pepper flakes for a little spicy touch. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
After a weekend away I was looking for a recipe to use the lentils and rice that I had in the refrigerator. This was perfect! Obviously I modified the recipe using lentils and rice that had been precooked and that were left-overs from a previous meal. In addition I had left-over vegies from fajitas, and asparagus from an omelet, spaghetti sauce (homemade), and some crisp bacon. I sauteed onion, garlic, celery and carrots...added them to the lentils and rice with the chopped bacon. I seasoned them with hot sauce and dried red chili peppers since the fajita vegies weren't "Italian" seasoned. Mixed in the leftover vegies and put about 1 cup of spaghetti sauce ('gravy' in our family) on top. It was great! My husband said, "This is another one of those dishes that we can never duplicate....darn it!" Thanks for helping me clean out the refrigerator, and get dinner on the table without going to the store!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol P
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I used brown rice instead of white rice and skipped the salt. The dish turned out a little dry, but after adding 1/2 cup of tomato basil marinara, it was delicious! Hearty, healthy... and even my meat-eating boyfriend approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States