Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Loved this recipe. I didn't have zucchini so I substituted broccoli. I also topped it with french onions for the last five minutes of baking. It looks like some have complained that the meal was dry or didn't have enough flavor, but mine was not like that at all. I may have used more tomato sauce than called for as I didn't measure it just threw in on until it looked like enough. This will definately become a staple recipe for our vegetarian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I left out the celery and added in some mushrooms, I also cooked the rice in vegetable stock instead of water. I am compiling a folder of easy vegetarian recipes for when my daughter goes to university in September. She has requested that this one definitely be included. Thankyou so much Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very very yummy vegetarian main dish. I doubled the tomato sauce, exchanged red pepper for the carrots and celery, and used a can of lentil soup instead of cooking lentils. I recommend adding a bit more rice if this is a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
mmm... this was so good. I just used what was around the kitchen - carrots, yellow pepper, tomato, bunch of garlic and onion, spinach and canned black beans instead of red. It turned out great!! i used olive oil instead of veggie oil and pasta sauce instead of tomato - i also suggest using more sauce than what is suggested. i also put more spices than what was called for and added cayenne pepper as well as some hot sauce to heat it up. i added mozarella cheese to half of that top and it's great with or without the cheese. yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
One of the few recipes worthy of 5 stars - YUM-O!!!! My 16 mth old twin toddlers loved it too! Only substitution I made was adding a cup of vegetable broth to the casserole before baking. Thank you for the perfect fasting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I am giving this recipe the 5 stars because although I tweaked it to meet my families particular tastes, we were all really happy with the end result. I am cooking for 3 non-dairy kids, 2 vegi. adults and three omnivores. And EVERYONE liked it. I followed some other reviewers advice: topped it with green onions for the last few minutes, added some extra veggies and was able to serve three generations of specialized eaters with no complaints. And that is a miracle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really Yummy! My vegetarian brother took the leftovers. I modified a bit, due to what I had on hand... olive oil instead of vegetable oil, canned tomatoes, didn't have zucchini or basil, just increased celery and carrots. I also sprinkled cheese on top when it came out of the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4you

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MonicaG
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Awesome recipe! I was looking for something other than a curry to use the mountains of lentils we have in the cupboard and this was great :) It was similar to another recipe that just throws everything into the dish and bakes it for 1 1/2 hours, and thats what I did here, cause Im lazy I guess ;P (be sure to mix it half way through if you use this method) Turned out great, lentils weren't mush either. I added all the spices into the lentils and rice and topped it with tomato sauce for the last 20 mins. Very yum, hardly any left and I only just made it! (I also threw in some peas and yellow beans I had)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I loved this. Better yet, my son who is vegan really liked it. I took the suggestion of a previous reviewer and cooked the rice and lentils in vegetable broth. The store was out of zucchini, so I substituted broccoli, and I used a can of seasoned diced tomatoes and seasoned tomato sauce, one 8 oz can in the casserole and one on top. Actually that is the best thing about this recipe - it is very adaptable. I am really looking forward to experimenting with different combinations. Oh, and it was even better a couple of days later as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Like many, I changed a few things: 1. I used a 14 oz can of Fire Roasted Chipotle tomatoes instead of a whole tomato + tomato sauce 2. I don't like celery or zucchini, so I replaced them with frozen peas and corn. 3. I cooked the rice and lentils in vegetable broth rather than water. Aside from that I followed it exactly and it was bursting with flavor. The best part of this recipe is that it is easily adaptable to whatever vegetables you like or have on hand. I was afraid it might be too light, but the lentils gave it bulk so it was very filling. A good meal to come home to on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States