Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This was good, but nothing spectacular. I cooked the rice and lentils in the same pot, and instead of sprinkling the second half of the spices over top, I mixed them into the remaining tomato sauce. Instead of a fresh tomato, I used half a can of petite diced tomatoes. This has a great combination of vegetables, but I think it could benefit from a little extra tomato sauce on top, or perhaps some cayenne pepper in with the spices. Still, I thought this was pretty good, very healthy and I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Very tasty! I used minute rice and I substituted cauliflower for the zucchini and marinara sauce for the tomato sauce, because I had those ingredients. I also crumbled up some tofu into the veggie mixture instead of using lentils because, sadly, even though I have been a vegetarian for over two years now, I cannot make lentils, per anyone's instructions. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great Recipe. Modified it a bit to my tastes. Used organis vegetarian broth instead of water, add some ginger and used 4 oz more of the tomato paste. Should have added some more peper however. Got rave reviews from my boyfriend who is a very picky eater! Served it with some fried zucchini slices and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I LOVED this dish. I'm sure it would have been great as written, but I made a few changes and it came out really well: I diluted a can of garlic & basil pizza sauce to use in place of the tomato sauce, doubled the oregano, basil, and cumin, and added a few drops of hot sauce to the vegetable mixture. I also cooked the rice in vegetable broth instead of plain water and added 1/2 tsp. of onion powder to the broth for even more flavour. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I enjoyed this casserole, but made some miner changes. Added more spice than called for, used bottled pasta sauce, and canned diced tomatoes. Overall, I thought it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I had to substitute a little with things I had on hand and it all worked well. I used garlic powder, canned tomatoes, and broccoli in place of the garlic cloves, fresh tomatoes, and zucchini. I also added cayan pepper. The results were a little dry but otherwise well-received by my family. I can't wait to make it again and see what else I can do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was okay, but that's it. Too dry, and a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Loved this recipe. I didn't have zucchini so I substituted broccoli. I also topped it with french onions for the last five minutes of baking. It looks like some have complained that the meal was dry or didn't have enough flavor, but mine was not like that at all. I may have used more tomato sauce than called for as I didn't measure it just threw in on until it looked like enough. This will definately become a staple recipe for our vegetarian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
very good and can easily subsitute veggies when needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I really like this recipe! Very healthy, relatively easy and good. I may try adding raisins next time - seems that might be a good addition with the flavor combos. Very happy to find yet another good way to use lentils and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States