Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Made with left over spaghetti sauce and green bean because that is what I had on hand. It was good and I will make aging with a few changes. Next time I will add some pepper, also think it would be good with mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Really good. I've made it a few times. Once we didn't have red lentils, so I used brown. Still good, but the consistency isn't as smooth. Since we're not vegan, I used chicken broth for the rice and lentils instead of water. Also added crumbled, browned sausage to the casserole. Good with brown rice, too! Very tasty combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Cooking this was a lot of fun, it smelled so delicious. I added a cup of mushrooms as well. I also made my own tomato sauce so it had all the flavors I love in it. I would recommend more sauce as well. It smelled great when cooking the vegetables, but after baking it all together it kind of lost some of the original intensity I thought it would have. Despite this it was delicious and healthy and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was really nice! I didn't have the vegetables mentioned in the recipe because I've been running low, so I just used some frozen mixed vegetables in the freezer and this still turned out so well! Instead of one tomato and the tomato sauce, I just used one whole can of chopped tomatoes - half cooked with the vegetables and half on top. I also added some cheese inside and on top. It was gooo-oood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I'm giving this 3 stars not because it is bad, but because it is not anything special. Tasty enough really, just nothing I oooh-ed and aaah-ed about while eating it. I really liked the lentils and zucchini in there. Even the celery. But you know it's not the greatest meal ever if the celery is one of the best things about it. The sauce was fairly dull. Not sure what half of the tomato sauce was doing on top. Maybe stopping it from drying out? If so, fair enough. It wasn't dry which is always a relief with casseroles. Otherwise, I would have prefered to mix it in, so that it could blend in with the herbs and garlic. It is a little plain there, sitting on the top as is. I grated some emmental cheese on it when reheating, that helped. All together, really not a bad meal. But not something I'd happily serve to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I really like this recipe! Very healthy, relatively easy and good. I may try adding raisins next time - seems that might be a good addition with the flavor combos. Very happy to find yet another good way to use lentils and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
very good and can easily subsitute veggies when needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Loved this recipe. I didn't have zucchini so I substituted broccoli. I also topped it with french onions for the last five minutes of baking. It looks like some have complained that the meal was dry or didn't have enough flavor, but mine was not like that at all. I may have used more tomato sauce than called for as I didn't measure it just threw in on until it looked like enough. This will definately become a staple recipe for our vegetarian family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was okay, but that's it. Too dry, and a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I had to substitute a little with things I had on hand and it all worked well. I used garlic powder, canned tomatoes, and broccoli in place of the garlic cloves, fresh tomatoes, and zucchini. I also added cayan pepper. The results were a little dry but otherwise well-received by my family. I can't wait to make it again and see what else I can do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States