Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
didn't have zucchini but made with the other veggies and used pizza sauce. added the extra seasoning which made it taste great. Put some mozz on it after it came out of hte oven and replaced the lid for a minute, and it was great :) easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This gets a three because of the use of white rice. Brown is more nutrients. Just prepare according to directions on the box or bag. The tomato sauce on top needs some help. Mix the herbs in with it instead of just putting them on top, or perhaps even leaving it off altogether and mix the whole can in with the other half. Not a bad recipe, but it just needs a big of tweaking to make it four or five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very very yummy vegetarian main dish. I doubled the tomato sauce, exchanged red pepper for the carrots and celery, and used a can of lentil soup instead of cooking lentils. I recommend adding a bit more rice if this is a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MonicaG
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Awesome recipe! I was looking for something other than a curry to use the mountains of lentils we have in the cupboard and this was great :) It was similar to another recipe that just throws everything into the dish and bakes it for 1 1/2 hours, and thats what I did here, cause Im lazy I guess ;P (be sure to mix it half way through if you use this method) Turned out great, lentils weren't mush either. I added all the spices into the lentils and rice and topped it with tomato sauce for the last 20 mins. Very yum, hardly any left and I only just made it! (I also threw in some peas and yellow beans I had)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Needs some adjustments to the written instructions. Enjoyed the flavour, but my lentils were way too mushy with suggested cooking time. Will try again, and shorten lentil cooking time and maybe add some cheese. Thanks for the idea. It was tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really Yummy! My vegetarian brother took the leftovers. I modified a bit, due to what I had on hand... olive oil instead of vegetable oil, canned tomatoes, didn't have zucchini or basil, just increased celery and carrots. I also sprinkled cheese on top when it came out of the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4you

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Kind of a bland recipe, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I am giving this recipe the 5 stars because although I tweaked it to meet my families particular tastes, we were all really happy with the end result. I am cooking for 3 non-dairy kids, 2 vegi. adults and three omnivores. And EVERYONE liked it. I followed some other reviewers advice: topped it with green onions for the last few minutes, added some extra veggies and was able to serve three generations of specialized eaters with no complaints. And that is a miracle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Pretty nice, but if you're using red lentils, don't cook them this long! Cooking them for 15 minutes will turn them into an orange-ish paste. 5-7 minutes of cook time in boiling water will usually suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I was soooo tempted to add cheese to this final product, but resisted that urge to keep it healthier. Like others suggested, I used canned tomatoes. I also put in a whole mix of veggies - broccoli, carrots, zucchini, summer squash, green beans and the onion & canned tomatoes. Super simple & tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States