Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I thought this was great, easy and healthy! I did add cheese, and I used canned tomatoes. I made the lentils with chicken broth instead of water. A great quick meatless meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because of how easy and versatile it is. I read the other reviews and made changes accordingly; I used brown rice, cooked the lentils for less time, used whatever veggies I had in the fridge (including mushrooms), doubled the spices, and topped it with a little bit of low-fat mozarella. There are so many ways to make this and very few ways to mess it up, so it's 5 star worthy. It was a hit at my house with everyone, even the carnivores. You could add a little meat or get fancy with the veggies, even substitute spaghetti sauce for the tomato sauce. I loved it and this will be added to our regular dinner meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Could use something else, but pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Not good with tomato sauce. Next time I'll make it with chicken broth only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe was awesome tasting and quite filling. I substituted short grain brown rice for long grain white. Red lentils are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this tonight with the following substitutions/additions: I cooked instant brown rice with the lentils in 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water (and more as was needed)...i used diced potatoes, peas, carrots, onion and celery as vegetables...then i added some cheese to it, i had a little mozzarella, a little swiss and a little jack/cheddar mix that i threw in at the end as i mixed everything together, then put it all in the casserole and just let it sit in the oven for a few minutes. It was very good! The lentils make it pretty rich, nice and healthy and warm! For non-vegetarians, this would be good with a little ground beef in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I didn't love it.It was okay but i couldn't really taste the zucchini.The 6 servings turned into only 2 meals,I didn't find it very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My roommates and I really didn't like this. Well, 1 of them said it was "alright". We added extra veggies (other squash and things from the farmer's market) as well as extra herbs and cheese as suggested by other reviewers and found it exceedingly bland and dry. So bland, in fact, that I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
it's a healthy easy meal but mine came out quite mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
We are a Vegan family and this was really good but after reading reviews we doubled the spices,,, turned out GREAT... even my husband was asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States