Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This recipe was awesome tasting and quite filling. I substituted short grain brown rice for long grain white. Red lentils are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this tonight with the following substitutions/additions: I cooked instant brown rice with the lentils in 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water (and more as was needed)...i used diced potatoes, peas, carrots, onion and celery as vegetables...then i added some cheese to it, i had a little mozzarella, a little swiss and a little jack/cheddar mix that i threw in at the end as i mixed everything together, then put it all in the casserole and just let it sit in the oven for a few minutes. It was very good! The lentils make it pretty rich, nice and healthy and warm! For non-vegetarians, this would be good with a little ground beef in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I didn't love it.It was okay but i couldn't really taste the zucchini.The 6 servings turned into only 2 meals,I didn't find it very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My roommates and I really didn't like this. Well, 1 of them said it was "alright". We added extra veggies (other squash and things from the farmer's market) as well as extra herbs and cheese as suggested by other reviewers and found it exceedingly bland and dry. So bland, in fact, that I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
it's a healthy easy meal but mine came out quite mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
We are a Vegan family and this was really good but after reading reviews we doubled the spices,,, turned out GREAT... even my husband was asking for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Really Yummy! I'm always looking for recipes, besides soup, with lentils because they are so healthy! I didn't realize I was out of onions, so I just left that out, it probably would have been better with, but it was still great! I used marinara sauce for the tomato sauce, and added just a little part skim shredded mozzarella cheese before baking! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle2828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
One of the few recipes worthy of 5 stars - YUM-O!!!! My 16 mth old twin toddlers loved it too! Only substitution I made was adding a cup of vegetable broth to the casserole before baking. Thank you for the perfect fasting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
it was very good! i took the suggestion of mixing the second half of the sauce with the spices before pouring it on top of the veggies, also added a bit of garlic powder to that... mixed it with grated cheese on my plate, yum! i will add some hot chili sauce next time though, just to give it more of an "oomph!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
We are low-carbing so I cut out the rice and it was great. I found that an easier method was to steam whichever veggies we were using (this recipe lends itself to whichever combo of veggies you have on hand), combine with tomato sauce and transfer to a baking dish. The most recent time I made this dish I topped it with some leftover cheese sauce which made it a little like a veggie lasagne, but without the pasta and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States