Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I had no red lentils so I changed it up with green one and instead of cooking rice and lentils with plan water i used vegetable broth. Very good recipe, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very good recipe! As others suggested, I used a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce w/Italian herbs, and a pinch of cayenne and it came out amazing!I also only boiled the red lentils for 7 minutes to avoid mushy lentils. Will definitely be in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Made a couple of changes per other reviews. Cooked lentils in veggie broth. Used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil to sauté veggies. Added mushrooms instead of celery, and a full jar of marinara sauce. The lentils took double the recommended amount of time to cook. Sprinkled some Colby cheese on top prior to baking. Overall, another great dish to add to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
A very healthy recipe to add to our lineup, though we did find this a bit dry as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Hubby requested this be added to the rotation :) Such a delicious dish for us gluten free vegetarians (aka weirdos - lol). I used wild rice and red lentils cooked in homemade veg broth, used more carrots and zucchini and used a 15oz can of tomato sauce instead of 8 (maybe this is why others said it was dry). Kids added moz cheese to theirs and liked it. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was good. I did add parmesan cheese on top before baking. I enjoyed it but the boys in family did notice the meat not there. Thats what happens when I try to slip one by them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe to a "t" with the exception of the zuccini and celery and it came out dry. Im not sure what I could have done to keep it from getting dry during the baking time. :/ any suggestions? It was ok. not as good as I was hoping it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Yummy! Added cheese to the top in the last 5 minutes and place under the broiler. Rave reviews, think that I might add some chopped green chillies next time for a little more kick. Thanks for a great vegetarian recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Nice flavours for such easy prep! I added a touch of grated cheese on top to give it something more and it was worth it~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
A terrific, easy and quick-to-make vegan meal. I cooked the lentils and rice in the same pot (add lentils when 8 minutes left in rice cooking time) and added garlic salt, onion powder and veggie bouillon to the water. Used a large jar of pasta sauce and skipped the tomato, added sliced green olives. I love the versatility of this dish - you can pretty well add anything you want to it. I think next time I will take one reviewers advice and top with french fried onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States