Lentil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Never would have thought to add lentils to a quiche but we loved it, with a few tweaks I learned from other reviewers. I sautéed the onions, along with some garlic to save time. I omitted the tomatoes, used asparagus instead of broccoli because that's what I had, at least doubled the Italian seasoning and added some nutmeg. The whole family loved it (husband, 6 yo and 3 yo). It filled one deep dish pie plate perfectly. I was a little leery of a crustless quiche but it set up nicely and didn't stick to the pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
It was on the bland side but too much dry seasoning taste, needs more cheese for sure, like the lentils may try to make it again with a twist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xmasgirl43
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I love it! It is extremely light even with the cheese added, and you feel like you can eat quite a bit because it does not feel heavy! I added extra seasonings of herbs de province, and more salt. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was the best lentil dish I have ever had. I had a bag of black lentils sitting in the cabinet for about a year and didn't know what to do with them. This receipe was delicious. I made 2 quiches and had the extra one for lunch over the next couple of days reheated in the microwave with extra cheese melted on top. As other reviewers suggested, I did not add the tomato. I made the mistake of adding salt to the lentils as they were cooking (my idea, not in the receipe), but it wasn't necessary and next time I won't do that. The kids even ate it and didn't complain. I plan to make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Thanks for this great recipe ! I didn't have broccoli so I used zucchini . So many possibilities ! I can't wait to use mushrooms and spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe! I would have never thought to add lentils to quiche. I added 3 strips chopped turkey bacon and, per other recommendations for more spice, FRESH basil and parsley (about a TBSP of each). My husband loves extra flavor, too. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Liked this recipe, with some of the changes mentioned in other reviews. I always cook lentils in veggie broth. I also added one minced garlic and whatever cheese I had in the fridge (I think it was Parmesan)as well as one tsp oregano and one tsp basil instead of Italian seasoning. I liked the idea of the tomato, but took other reviewers recommendations and did not add it into the quiche. I added the chopped fresh tomato as a topping at the end instead. Pretty quick and painless and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This recipe needed a lot of help to get the flavor going. The texture was good, but, we had to fresh ingredients to get any amount of flavor in the dish. It fell flat. Not on my list of things to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I enjoyed this quiche very much - I liked the diversity of texture within it due to the lentils. My girlfriend didn't love it... she thought that quiche should be smoother, without the toothiness of lentils. She also felt that a quiche should have a crust, so this may be more frittata-like. So, a slightly mixed review in my house. I did find that I had to cook the lentils for the full 20 minutes, unlike some previous comments. I made a couple of minor modifications: as others did, I omitted the tomatoes. I also sautéed the broccoli florets and onions with a clove of garlic instead of baking the onion in the pie pan. I did this so I could prepare it ahead of time and put the pre-made quiche in the fridge to bake later (which worked fine). I also added some shredded mild cheddar/jack mix as well as some shredded Parmesan cheese. I think the cheese is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Good basic recipe... surprisingly and satisfyingly rich and hearty. My favorite is just as printed but substituting thin sliced carrots and cauliflower florets for the broccoli. I also used plain almond milk for the dairy and make sure it's a sharp Cheddar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States