Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
absolutely gorgeous! even my meat mad husband loved it! i did change a few things though like the broth. i used mushroom instead and add some grated carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I cooked the lentils with a few bay leaves and used leftover crackers(crumbled) instead of bread crumbs. Also I didn't have any soup mix, used Tastefully Simple's Milan Sunset Pasta Mix..gave it a lot of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was great but made ALOT of changes. I used beef broth for the water and vegetable broth. Ketchup for the Tomato paste, 2 1/2 cups oatmeal for the white bread. 1/2 cup pureed silken tofu for the eggs, onion soup mix and no bread crumbs. I also topped the loaf w/ a mixture of 1/3 cup ketchup & 1/3 cup brown sugar before baking. Alot of people where saying how it was sepearting or falling apart, I do not have that problem at all. Its not moist or anything, maybe to much oatmeal, but sliced on toast w/ ketchup and mayo, it was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This was very good. I took the suggestion of others and added an extra egg. I used ketchup instead of the tomato paste. I poured half the mixture into the pan and then sprinkled cheddar cheese on that, then topped with the rest of the lentil mixture so that when it was done, it was cheese stuffed. This really added some flavor. I didn't top with breadcrumbs. I served it with mushroom gravy. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was the first lentil loaf I've ever tried to make. I was please with my results though I have started getting ideas for the next time I make this. I thought the flavor was very good with the dry soup mix and vegetarian vegetable broth (not water as some suggest). My loaf didn't stay together very well when I pulled it out of the pan at the end of the 10 minutes (the bottom and top seperated horizontally as it was flipped and pried out of the pan even though I used an extra egg as one reviewer suggested. I think I might make lentil cupcakes next time and hope that they come out easier. I would suggest lining your loaf pan with either parchment or wax paper before filling with the lentil mixture if you like to make a nice presentation. I would not suggest adding the 1/3 cup of bread crumbs as suggested either...just a dusting will do as the rest will just fall off. All in all, I was very pleased with this dish. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was great! I took the advice of other reviewers and added an extra egg. I also added fresh onion, garlic, and portobello mushrooms. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Very easy to make! Flavor is fine, especially alongside mashed potatoes, peas, and plenty of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amboy, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Very disappointing! Tasted like breaded fake meat, stuff vegetarians can eat....don't waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My mom and sister are vegetarians, and tofurkey just isn't an option for Thanksgiving. My mom absolutely loves this recipe - I changed the recipe by adding wild rice instead of white bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Just finished making this and I must say I am optimistic. I have tried multiple lentil loaves that have turned out mushy nothing like a loaf. I followed the suggestions of others and substituted ketchup for tomato paste, & whole wheat bread for white. I used crimson lentils as well and the color of the loaf and consistency going into the pan was far firmer than other attempts. Instead of bread crumbs, I put a little barbecue sauce on before putting it in the oven and cheese for the last 10 minutes. Overall, it looks and smells terrific. It sliced easily and everyone in my family loved it, although we all love lentils. This was a great recipe although I might try using egg replacer instead of the egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States