Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I really like this recipe. I had very low expectations but I was wrong.I also made a few changes. First I used whole wheat bread instead of the white. I also did not use the soup mix, but used some garlic and herb Mrs. Dash and added some garlic powder for extra flavor. I added the extra egg like some others suggested. I also mixed the bread crumbs with some italian seasoning and added ketchup to the top. The bread crumb were dry and proably needed to be mixed with butter or something. I froze half of mine because it is very filling. It was simple to make and I will be making this again soon. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
this was a real surprise and went quick- a great alternative to cow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
if someone is a little leery of this recipe, definitely make a cheese center. My boyfriend really ended up liking this and he does not eat lentils!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Ok, I changed a bunch of stuff in this recipe and it turned out wonderfully. As other reviewers noted, I cooked the lentils in veggie broth. Instead of tomato paste, I used ketchup. I was also out of bread, so had to be creative. I used what I had left of stuffing mix, about 3/4 cup after soaked in water. I also tore up an "everything" bagel and put that in. I baked it an extra 15 minutes as well. It was fantastic. Not as solid, but still tasted great!! I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I thought this was really good though the texture made it a little less kid freindly than I would have liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Made this up last night and was stunned with the results. Growing up vegetarian, I've eaten a lot of lentil loaf (and cottage cheese loaf) and always thought it was too dry and tasteless. Then I found this recipe. My carnivore husband went back for seconds and told me it was better than any meatloaf he'd ever eaten! I added an additional egg, used wheat bread instead of white, subbed ketchup for the tomato paste and used onion soup mix rather than vegetable. Just had the leftovers for lunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I drizzled ketchup on top before adding the bread crumbs. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
absolutely gorgeous! even my meat mad husband loved it! i did change a few things though like the broth. i used mushroom instead and add some grated carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I cooked the lentils with a few bay leaves and used leftover crackers(crumbled) instead of bread crumbs. Also I didn't have any soup mix, used Tastefully Simple's Milan Sunset Pasta Mix..gave it a lot of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This was great but made ALOT of changes. I used beef broth for the water and vegetable broth. Ketchup for the Tomato paste, 2 1/2 cups oatmeal for the white bread. 1/2 cup pureed silken tofu for the eggs, onion soup mix and no bread crumbs. I also topped the loaf w/ a mixture of 1/3 cup ketchup & 1/3 cup brown sugar before baking. Alot of people where saying how it was sepearting or falling apart, I do not have that problem at all. Its not moist or anything, maybe to much oatmeal, but sliced on toast w/ ketchup and mayo, it was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States