Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I REALLY liked my version...after reading the reviews, I knew I had to spice it up some. First off, I added a bouillon cube to the water when boiling the lentils. I then sauted 1/2 an onion, some green pepper, left-over jalapeno, grated carrot & minced garlic. I used 1/2 cup italian bread crumbs instead of bread, ketchup instead of tomato paste, and italian seasoning instead of the spices and soup mix. I also added a dash of chili sauce and a dash of worcheshire sauce. I did not put bread crumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Made this up last night and was stunned with the results. Growing up vegetarian, I've eaten a lot of lentil loaf (and cottage cheese loaf) and always thought it was too dry and tasteless. Then I found this recipe. My carnivore husband went back for seconds and told me it was better than any meatloaf he'd ever eaten! I added an additional egg, used wheat bread instead of white, subbed ketchup for the tomato paste and used onion soup mix rather than vegetable. Just had the leftovers for lunch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I have made this twice, the first time exactly as written, and it was a little too salty. The second time I followed the others' reviews and used ketchup instead of tomato paste, as well as water instead of vegetable broth. This turned a so-so recipe into an amazing recipe. This will become a staple in my house. One note: be sure to let the loaf cool for a while before trying to remove it from the pan...the first time I removed it too soon and fell apart. The second time I let it cool for a while and it held together nicely. Adding another egg might solve this problem too if you're not going to have time to let it cool, but I haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I really recommend this recipe; it's great comfort food. It uses lentils in a much better way than any other lentil recipe I've tried in the past. However, in all fairness, I should mention that I didn't follow it exactly. I was anticipating that it might be too dry (after reading some of the other reviews) and added an extra egg and a little more olive oil. With these changes, I liked it a lot - 5 stars - but the recipe as is gets 4 stars. Other modifications: I put cheddar cheese on top instead of bread crumbs - 10 minutes at 400 degrees turned out to be just right for a cheese "crust". I used potato soup mix, and it really complemented the other ingredients. Also, I divided the mixture into two small loaf pans so that I could freeze one for later. Thanks, Karen! EDIT 11/1/06: These loaves reheat perfectly! I thawed mine out in the oven until it was soft enough to cut, then sliced off a piece and nuked it, & refrigerated the rest until I used it all up. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was great! I took the advice of other reviewers and added an extra egg. I also added fresh onion, garlic, and portobello mushrooms. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Just finished making this and I must say I am optimistic. I have tried multiple lentil loaves that have turned out mushy nothing like a loaf. I followed the suggestions of others and substituted ketchup for tomato paste, & whole wheat bread for white. I used crimson lentils as well and the color of the loaf and consistency going into the pan was far firmer than other attempts. Instead of bread crumbs, I put a little barbecue sauce on before putting it in the oven and cheese for the last 10 minutes. Overall, it looks and smells terrific. It sliced easily and everyone in my family loved it, although we all love lentils. This was a great recipe although I might try using egg replacer instead of the egg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
this was so good. i put 1/2 of the lentil mixture in the loaf pan, sprinkled mozzarella cheese and covered it with the remaining mixture. even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was the first lentil loaf I've ever tried to make. I was please with my results though I have started getting ideas for the next time I make this. I thought the flavor was very good with the dry soup mix and vegetarian vegetable broth (not water as some suggest). My loaf didn't stay together very well when I pulled it out of the pan at the end of the 10 minutes (the bottom and top seperated horizontally as it was flipped and pried out of the pan even though I used an extra egg as one reviewer suggested. I think I might make lentil cupcakes next time and hope that they come out easier. I would suggest lining your loaf pan with either parchment or wax paper before filling with the lentil mixture if you like to make a nice presentation. I would not suggest adding the 1/3 cup of bread crumbs as suggested either...just a dusting will do as the rest will just fall off. All in all, I was very pleased with this dish. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Be careful what type of dry soup you use. It made my loaf taste horrible. Maybe season to taste, forget the soup mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I followed all the directions but added some sauted onion and used ketchup instead of tomato paste as suggested by other reviewers. I also took another suggestion and topped the loaf with ketchup before baking and then added italian bred crumbs on top of that when the recipe called for it. So delicious and healthy. Thanks for the wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States