Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by tibbadee
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I've only eaten a bite from it and already think it's very good! I would definitely give it five stars with my modifications, but without them, only four. Here are the changes I made: cooked the lentils in beef broth, used 3 eggs, replaced the bread with about 1/2 cup bread crumbs, used a tiny bit less veggie broth than called for, replaced the tomato paste with ketchup, used 1 clove fresh garlic in lieu of the garlic powder, and completely omitted the vegetable soup mix. I had some thick ginger carrot soup on hand and also added it in (just 2 or 3 tbs). All in all this makes a very yummy meal provided you make those changes, and even without them I'm quite sure this recipe is good. I didn't have time for experiences though and decided to trust the "commenters"! Thanks for a great way to eat more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good, followed others suggestions: used ketchup instead of paste, onion soup instead of veg soup mix, and added a little extra spice w/ about 1/2 tsp of chili powder, sauteed onion, and 1/2 tsp of curry powder. Everyone really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I thought this was very good. I did add a cup of oatmeal and two eggs to the mixture based on other reviews because I was afraid that it would not hold together enough. I also added onion and garlic. It was done a little before the 40 minutes and I did not add the breadcrumbs on top. I think the onion soup mix I added really gave it a good flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This recipe was one of the best lentil roasts ever. The next day I made lentil soup with the leftover lentils, potatoes, carrot, celery and tomato sauce, along with some spices thrown in. Hubby put some of the leftover roast in his bowl and it added to the soup flavor wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bowlus Haines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
delicious! definitely add the extra egg (as suggested in other comments) and substitue tomato ketchup for the tomato paste. i did this recipe in half (for 2 people) and it turned out great with some left overs for lunch! definitely make it with a gravy to go over-top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmaley01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folcroft, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Lovely - make it. If pressed for time, use a tin of lentils (very cheap) and add stock instead of soup mix (2 teaspoons will do) I crumbled cornchips on top, and added grated cheese. I covered the whole thing with tinfoil and baked. YUM. Delicious on the night it was baked, and made a great cold sliced sandwich filling too. About to make it for the second time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
After reading all the reviews, I took some suggestions and made a few modifications of my own. I sauted an onion, carrot, 2 stalks of celery and half a green pepper. I threw in 2 chopped garlic cloves for the last minute. I added one extra egg, and 1/2 a cup of whole grain bread crumbs. As I am concerned about sodium and most dry soup mixes are incredibly high, I left out the dry soup mix and put in 1 cup of water instead of vegetable broth. Also used 2 tbls of low cal ketchup in place of the tomato paste. I basically stood in front of my spice cupboard and threw in a bit of everything. I had the lentils in one bowl with the bread crumbs and sauted veggies and in another, I combined the eggs, water, ketchup, olive oil and some chopped cilantro. Gave it all a good whisk, then added it to the lentil bowl. Mixed everything well and put it in a convection oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Took out, let sit for five and then enjoyed. Did not put breadcrumb topping on. Was really delicious - nice and moist. I'd made a lentil loaf before and it was dry and tasteless. This was a winner and I'll make again and recomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I tried this because of the good reviews and my husband's desire to eat more healthily. Unfortunately, we've now ordered a pizza as an alternative. I followed the tips and hints of others, and yet it still was too salty and tasted, my husband said, like stuffing, which he doesn't like. I give it 2 stars because I wasn't as negative and would have eaten it (but never made it again), but he didn't even want to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I thought it was alright... it tasted okay, but the texture was off. It came out all squishy and didn't hold its shape well. I probably didn't leave it in the oven long enough/cut it too soon, so I count it as user error. But I did add fresh garlic instead of powder, onion and carrot (all of which I sauteed before adding to the mix). With those changes, it was pretty good. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Excellent tasting recipe. The second time I made this I used beef vegetable soup mix to the water while boiling the lentils instead of adding later in the mix. Added a fantastic flavor to the lentils. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States