Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
really good! just as good as meat meatloaf :) in the last 10mins of cooking i coated the top with some ketchup and sprinkled on some bread crumbs, and i lined my loaf pan with parchment paper instead of greasing it, worked great and came out of the pan easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow, my girlfriend just made this for me and it was great. I liked it better then meat loaf cause the taste was so much more flavorful and a lot better for you. She used French onion soup mix ketchup and wheat bread! Thanks, girlfriend and allrecipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe was delicious! I highly recommend it!!! I threw in some extra spices to match my taste-buds. I also substituted ketchup for tomato paste. I sautéed about 1/3rd of an onion and added a chopped carrot to the mixture. I did not add the olive oil or soup mix. Instead I added a little extra broth because some people commented that the recipe needed a more liquid. In addition, I baked the loaf for 50 minutes strait and did not add breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this recipe and added a layer of ketchup after it was baked, and my husband ate half the loaf in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I'll make this again. My husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Just made this for dinner tonight. We thought it was mushy and pretty bland. I'll try it again using oatmeal instead of the bread and kick it up with some chopped onion and more seasoning. We love lentils so I'll be tweaking this recipe to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
yummy stuff. I added 1/2 cup of nutritional yeast for a tad bit of a cheesy flavor and we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Used this recipe a few times, I soaked the lentils in cold water for about 6 hours and this cut the cooking time down to 10 minutes. Also did not use the soup mix and used ketchup instead of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tibbadee
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I've only eaten a bite from it and already think it's very good! I would definitely give it five stars with my modifications, but without them, only four. Here are the changes I made: cooked the lentils in beef broth, used 3 eggs, replaced the bread with about 1/2 cup bread crumbs, used a tiny bit less veggie broth than called for, replaced the tomato paste with ketchup, used 1 clove fresh garlic in lieu of the garlic powder, and completely omitted the vegetable soup mix. I had some thick ginger carrot soup on hand and also added it in (just 2 or 3 tbs). All in all this makes a very yummy meal provided you make those changes, and even without them I'm quite sure this recipe is good. I didn't have time for experiences though and decided to trust the "commenters"! Thanks for a great way to eat more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good, followed others suggestions: used ketchup instead of paste, onion soup instead of veg soup mix, and added a little extra spice w/ about 1/2 tsp of chili powder, sauteed onion, and 1/2 tsp of curry powder. Everyone really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States