Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this this evening for dinner and it was delicious. I used just two eggs and things seemed to work out fine. I used whole wheat baguette I had lying around and it worked great and ketchup instead of tomato paste. I cooked the lentils in an organic vegetable broth and did not add any further broth, water or soup powder. I also sauteed some onions, garlic, celery and carrot and added that. I added some grated cheddar cheese and chopped walnuts for crunch and extra protein and it was great. I would recommend adding grated cheese to the top instead of the bread crumbs - it really adds a lot to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
So yummy, read teh reviews and cooked lentils in broth. Used whole wheat bread, used thyme and basil instead of soup mix. Ketcup, 3 eggs, and added sauted onion, garlic, sheddred carrots and zucchini. And I baked them in muffin tins and cooked in half the time. My two year old is even eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I just had this for dinner and it will def. be a repeat I made a few changes to work with what I had on hand and it turned out amazing. small pieces of lightly toasted english muffin in place of bread crumbs 1 tsp minced garlic in olive oil in place of garlic powder Half a packet of onion soup in place of veg mix 1/2 c broth 1/2 cup water to reduce the saltiness skipped the tomato past and used ketchup as per other reviewers suggestions. I also used brown lentils. It tastes amazing and would probably work great for baked veg burgers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is this first time AllRecipes reviewers have let me down. At first the texture of mine was way too wet. After an hour and a half in the oven, it firmed up, but the lentils were very dry and the binding just didn't bind. The seasoning is way off. I never use soup mix under normal circumstances, but my son had bought some. I much prefer the vegetarian shepherd's pie recipe from this site. My family was expecting a redux of that, and were horribly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I thought this was fantastic--it got eaten all in one sitting! Yet another meat product I don't have to eat, as this was better than any meatloaf. I don't eat white bread--so I used toasted Ezekiel bread. I also could not find green lentils, so I just used regular. Lastly, I used onion soup mix as opposed to vegetable, as I already had it in my pantry. Next time, I think I might add some chopped onion to the mix, as well as some BBQ sauce. But it was great just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I also used ketchup instead of tomato paste, and a little lesss water. I baked them in a muffin tin. This is the closest thing to meatloaf I've found since I became vegetarian. Awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made it almost exactly except I made my bread into bread crumbs, and this was WAY too salty. The texture was perfect as was the cooking. I think next time I'm going to omit the vegetable stock and just add water. (and maybe just season to taste instead of using the soup mix...) It's edible but I definitely feel that I have eaten all of my sodium for the day in just one tiny little loaf piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I used about 2T fresh basil and no parsley, along with mushroom-onion soup mix. I also followed the recipe and used only 2 cups cooked lentils (though why the recipe calls for a dry amount that yields more is beyond me), and I found the loaf very flavorful--maybe others thought it was bland because they used the full amount once the lentils were cooked. This was delicious with brown gravy. I'll omit the bread crumbs next time--they didn't add much--and use Parmesan instead. I'll also add sauteed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
LOVED THIS! I did make a few changes I used ketchup instead of tomato paste, i added grilled onions and i also used 1 cup of bread crumbs instead of 6 peaces of bread and i did not add dried parsley because i did not have any. Also i added chicken broth instead of the veggie broth and i did not put bread crumbs on top......THIS IS GREAT and healthy will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Petrosyan
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Even my carnivore husband likes this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htucker71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States