Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I just had this for dinner and it will def. be a repeat I made a few changes to work with what I had on hand and it turned out amazing. small pieces of lightly toasted english muffin in place of bread crumbs 1 tsp minced garlic in olive oil in place of garlic powder Half a packet of onion soup in place of veg mix 1/2 c broth 1/2 cup water to reduce the saltiness skipped the tomato past and used ketchup as per other reviewers suggestions. I also used brown lentils. It tastes amazing and would probably work great for baked veg burgers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is this first time AllRecipes reviewers have let me down. At first the texture of mine was way too wet. After an hour and a half in the oven, it firmed up, but the lentils were very dry and the binding just didn't bind. The seasoning is way off. I never use soup mix under normal circumstances, but my son had bought some. I much prefer the vegetarian shepherd's pie recipe from this site. My family was expecting a redux of that, and were horribly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I thought this was fantastic--it got eaten all in one sitting! Yet another meat product I don't have to eat, as this was better than any meatloaf. I don't eat white bread--so I used toasted Ezekiel bread. I also could not find green lentils, so I just used regular. Lastly, I used onion soup mix as opposed to vegetable, as I already had it in my pantry. Next time, I think I might add some chopped onion to the mix, as well as some BBQ sauce. But it was great just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I also used ketchup instead of tomato paste, and a little lesss water. I baked them in a muffin tin. This is the closest thing to meatloaf I've found since I became vegetarian. Awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made it almost exactly except I made my bread into bread crumbs, and this was WAY too salty. The texture was perfect as was the cooking. I think next time I'm going to omit the vegetable stock and just add water. (and maybe just season to taste instead of using the soup mix...) It's edible but I definitely feel that I have eaten all of my sodium for the day in just one tiny little loaf piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I used about 2T fresh basil and no parsley, along with mushroom-onion soup mix. I also followed the recipe and used only 2 cups cooked lentils (though why the recipe calls for a dry amount that yields more is beyond me), and I found the loaf very flavorful--maybe others thought it was bland because they used the full amount once the lentils were cooked. This was delicious with brown gravy. I'll omit the bread crumbs next time--they didn't add much--and use Parmesan instead. I'll also add sauteed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
LOVED THIS! I did make a few changes I used ketchup instead of tomato paste, i added grilled onions and i also used 1 cup of bread crumbs instead of 6 peaces of bread and i did not add dried parsley because i did not have any. Also i added chicken broth instead of the veggie broth and i did not put bread crumbs on top......THIS IS GREAT and healthy will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Petrosyan
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Even my carnivore husband likes this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htucker71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
A really wonderful lentil loaf. We eat this almost every other week, with mashed potatoes and a mushroom gravy. Filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this according to the recipe and it was a bit bland. I will definitely try this again though with some of the tips posted by others and it can only get better from here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States