Lentil Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I loved this vegetarian meat loaf recipe! I did make a few changes to the original ingredients for the recipe to better suit what I actually had in my pantry. I used brown lentils instead of green, whole wheat sandwich bread instead of white, and I did not add the dry soup base, rather I just added extra of each spice/herb listed. I also added some steak seasoning because I think it helps match the taste of traditional meat loaf without any of the meat. Served with ketchup just like traditional meat loaf, and I thought this tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SimplyElegant
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I just made this recipe. Fantastic! I added 1/2 c chopped mushrooms, liquid smoke, mesquite seasoning, 1/4 c chopped walnuts. And I also made a new flavored gravy. The flavours turned out great. Thank you for the recipe. I will be doing this many mores times again. Oh, by the way, I'm not a vegetarian! Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennah
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Turned out great! Sprinkled a little cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I read a few of the reviews before making this recipe. I added an extra egg and used ketchup instead of tomato paste. For the dry soup I used Cheddar potato. I sauteed: half an onion finely diced, 2 garlic cloves finely diced, 1-2 carrots shredded and 4-5 mushrooms finely chopped and added those in. I also mixed in a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese. When it came time to add the bread crumbs, I used Panko Italian Style and also sprinkled a little more mozzarella cheese on top. I whipped up a quick vegetarian brown gravy to go with it, and this was delicious! My husband and I both enjoyed it very much, and I will be making it for us to eat at Thanksgiving dinner in place of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Not being a vegetarian I was hesitant at first to try this recipe. I had a bag of unused lentils so I thought I'd try it. I adjusted slightly as the other reviewers suggested and it turned out amazing! Smells great and tasted just as good! I highly recommend this for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beghtelfamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
By far the best receipe I've tried yet for lentil loaf. the only changes I made were to use 1/2 c bread crumbs instead of slices of bread, 2 T ketchup instead of tomato paste, added 1/2 onion along with some chopped celery, carrot & green pepper. I also spread extra ketchup on top before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was very good. I've tried a few "meat"loaf recipes and this one turned out the best. I did add sauteed fresh garlic, fresh onion, fresh carrots, and fresh rosemary. I took the other reviewers suggestions and swapped ketchup for tomato paste and did 3 eggs rather than 2. I didn't have bread around so used 1/2 Cup Italian breadcrumbs like another reviewer suggested. I ended up not adding the broth because adding a cup of liquid i thought would make in really runny. It came out a little too dry as a result but i do think 1 cup of broth would have been too much. Next time i'll boil the lentils veggie broth and then I won't drain them. I think that would have been the perfect amount of liquid. Also, i didn't do the final bread crumb crust - that seemed like too much to me. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Loved this recipe. I added some chopped roasted red peppers and topped with tomato basil sauce. It was really good and I plan on adding this to my list of Meatless Monday favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States