Lentil Lemon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I loved this soup especially because of all the fresh herbs in it. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I didn't realize this required pre-seasoning chicken stock, so instead I created a bouquet garni with the herbs, and used straight chicken stock in lieu of the water. I loved the lemony flavor and enjoyed the addition of swiss chard. Like many, I shortened the cooking time for the stock and for the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The best part of this recipe was adding my own home grown Swiss chard, parsley and lemons! A nice trick is to blend, (in a blender,) about 1/4 of the lentil soup part (before adding the chard.) Add blended part back to soup before adding chard. This makes it a bit thicker. To the soup mixture step-while sauteeing the onion and garlic ADD a teaspoon of garlic. YUM! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Excellent soup with robust and tangy flavor. I love serving this with stuffed grape leaves and pita bread. Makes for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ratlwm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I loved this soup! I was skeptical about the quantity of broth and water called for, but after all of that simmering, you end up with the right amount. I made this vegetarian by using veg broth instead of chicken. I went a littler heavier on the thyme sprigs and used a little less than 1/2 cup of lemon juice. I suggest adding 1/4 cup at first, tasting it and then adding lemon as needed. The soup has a lot of depth when it comes to flavor and the lemon and thyme have your taste buds craving more. I highly recommend this wonderful, hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I had this soup at a restaurant near my work on several lunch occasions. It was sooo good and healthy that I longed to find a recipe similar to what the Lebonese chef created. I have found it right here and have made it several times for guests accompanied by fatttoush salad. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
YO!! The wife hated it, but I was feel'n this one. BIG UP. I made some garlic cheesy bread to go with, yo perfect match....not enough good things I can say abouts it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I really liked this, but it made a bigger batch than we anticipated and it was more than my husband and I could eat. We got tired of the leftovers very quickly. But the taste was good, even reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This was good and intresting....My two year old was not a fan of it but my husband loves it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a delicious soup! We've grown a huge amount of Chard in our 'Square Foot Garden' and we were really glad to find a recipe that used a lb and a half! We did use all of the broth and just added about two cups of water. The lemon flavor was surprisingly good, we'll be serving this again soon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by radiocycle
Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States