Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
my chili turned out really good, but with a LOT of modifying. There was definately not enough liquid.. i ended up added 4 cups of the stock, and almost another 4 cups of water just to keep it from turning to a solid. This also meant I had to keep adding seasonings to taste, and so it wouldn't taste watered down, I added 3 fresh tomatoes. I also added some hot sauce and a can of kidney beans. Instead of 2 cups of the whole canned tomatoes, I added 1 can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomatoe sauce. I also used quinoa instead of bulgar wheat. it took a LONG time to cook. It did end up tasting fine but was almost a pain trying to keep the flavors consistant while adding more and more liquid!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Good but a little bland and not enough tomato flavor to make it like a rich tasting chili that I like. I had to increase the time and liquid for the lentils to cook. I also added 1/2 a can of tomato paste, some chopped carrots, roasted red pepper, and roasted corn. For extra liquid I added two small cans of V8 and another whole can of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I substituted the 2 cups of tomatoes for a 14 1/2 ounce can of petite diced tomatoes (the liquid included!) I am also watching my carbs so I substituted the bulgur wheat for 2 cups of chopped celery, and substituted the vegetable oil for olive oil. I did cook it a little while longer than the recipe called for. It was fantastic! We ate it with cornbread (it could have also been a nice side dish, or over white rice)Next time I think I will attempt to throw it in the crock-pot and see how it turns out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe was really good, but I boiled the lentils for about 45 mnutes and they were still really hard. Next time I think I will soak overnight and then follow the recipe here. Flavors were really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Best vegetarian chili I EVER had, husband loved it as well. The only thing I did different is I added 1 can of kidney beans because I love them in chili. It was superb. Thank you for this wonderful recipe which I will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Fantastic Robyn!! I made this late last night for today but after a taste, I just couldn't wait and scooped myself a midnight snack. Like another reviewer I decided to use quinoa instead of the bulgar wheat but that's just a personal choice as both work well. I'm not a fan of whole tomatoes in chili so I added tomato sauce instead and as I do with all my chili recipes, I also added black coffee and cocoa powder. A few more seasonings such as garlic and onion powders and a bit of cayenne pepper and it was the perfect bowl of chili! It doesn't get much healthier than this and I thank you Robyn for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Super duper easy, yummy, inexpensive meal. Reheats well. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and I used a little extra broth to compensate for the lack of tomato liquid. My husband is a "meat man" but inhaled his whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good ad easy. I used quinoa instead of bulgar and fresh peeled tomatoes instead of canned. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Amazingly easy and quick to make. I boiled the lentils and let them soak for about 25 minutes before I added them to the chili. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Delicious. I followed the recipe, adding only celery and carrots since I felt it needed a few more veggies. Like others I enjoyed this immensely topped with shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream. What a great way to sneak more lentils and bulgur into my diet =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladihawke22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States