Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Best vegetarian chili I EVER had, husband loved it as well. The only thing I did different is I added 1 can of kidney beans because I love them in chili. It was superb. Thank you for this wonderful recipe which I will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Fantastic Robyn!! I made this late last night for today but after a taste, I just couldn't wait and scooped myself a midnight snack. Like another reviewer I decided to use quinoa instead of the bulgar wheat but that's just a personal choice as both work well. I'm not a fan of whole tomatoes in chili so I added tomato sauce instead and as I do with all my chili recipes, I also added black coffee and cocoa powder. A few more seasonings such as garlic and onion powders and a bit of cayenne pepper and it was the perfect bowl of chili! It doesn't get much healthier than this and I thank you Robyn for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Super duper easy, yummy, inexpensive meal. Reheats well. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and I used a little extra broth to compensate for the lack of tomato liquid. My husband is a "meat man" but inhaled his whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good ad easy. I used quinoa instead of bulgar and fresh peeled tomatoes instead of canned. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Amazingly easy and quick to make. I boiled the lentils and let them soak for about 25 minutes before I added them to the chili. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Delicious. I followed the recipe, adding only celery and carrots since I felt it needed a few more veggies. Like others I enjoyed this immensely topped with shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream. What a great way to sneak more lentils and bulgur into my diet =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladihawke22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great chili and a very healthy recipe. I thought it was very favorful, although I added some fresh cilantro toward the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was great. and healthy! even my meat loving husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This had a very good flavour and I love that I was able to use up some of my bulgar wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is a marvelous dish. I have a little suggestion for those who are a little timid around spicy foods. Instead of adding more chili powder, (which tends to overwhelm the flavor,) I suggest dicing anaheim chili peppers. One nice large crisp one is a good starter, they are very mild and extremely flavorful, I even add them to my chicken soups etc. Enjoy, and God bless. Wolf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States