Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This got rave reviews from everyone who ate it. I do recommend soaking the bulgur and lentils (together) overnight and adding more stock/broth than the recipe calls for. It continued to soak up the liquid and got thicker as it stood. A little shredded cheddar, a dollop of sour cream and a squeeze of lime...perfect! Great delicious, guilt free recipe...I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this chili was. The bulger really bulks it up, giving it a more meaty texture than ordinary no-meat chili. And my three children, who normally turn their noses at anything different, ate it without a fuss. If I had to do it again, though, I would boil the lentils on thier own for a while first. It took an hour of simmering, and adding extra chicken broth, before they were tender enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
It was good but it needs beans for me to consider it chili. Next time I think I will half the lentils and bulgur wheat and add 2 can of beans. I highly recommend soaking the lentils and bulgur wheat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
One of my personal favorties and I add ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sosumi Ydontya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
taste was okay. i used exact ingredients and followed directions but ended up having to double broth because when with cooking time the 'chili' had the thickness of a pot of cooked rice. Not one drop of broth left and the lentils were still not cooked through. Maybe I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delish! I didn't have any bulgar wheat, so I substituted with more lentils. I also added a can of kidney beans to make it more chili-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillybeens
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
added two bay leaves to let simmer for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is easy, affordable and very healthy. I'm adding it to my regular rotation of meals. I did need to double the liquid even though I soaked the lentils for an hour before cooking. I also added kidney beans, as another reviewer suggested, which made it seem more like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
A little bland and boring. Good vegan choice, but I probably would not make again otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe! We added corn and a bit more water. Berberie spice (popular in Ethiopian dishes) might be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States