Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
taste was okay. i used exact ingredients and followed directions but ended up having to double broth because when with cooking time the 'chili' had the thickness of a pot of cooked rice. Not one drop of broth left and the lentils were still not cooked through. Maybe I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delish! I didn't have any bulgar wheat, so I substituted with more lentils. I also added a can of kidney beans to make it more chili-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillybeens
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
added two bay leaves to let simmer for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is easy, affordable and very healthy. I'm adding it to my regular rotation of meals. I did need to double the liquid even though I soaked the lentils for an hour before cooking. I also added kidney beans, as another reviewer suggested, which made it seem more like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
A little bland and boring. Good vegan choice, but I probably would not make again otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe! We added corn and a bit more water. Berberie spice (popular in Ethiopian dishes) might be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
my chili turned out really good, but with a LOT of modifying. There was definately not enough liquid.. i ended up added 4 cups of the stock, and almost another 4 cups of water just to keep it from turning to a solid. This also meant I had to keep adding seasonings to taste, and so it wouldn't taste watered down, I added 3 fresh tomatoes. I also added some hot sauce and a can of kidney beans. Instead of 2 cups of the whole canned tomatoes, I added 1 can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomatoe sauce. I also used quinoa instead of bulgar wheat. it took a LONG time to cook. It did end up tasting fine but was almost a pain trying to keep the flavors consistant while adding more and more liquid!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Good but a little bland and not enough tomato flavor to make it like a rich tasting chili that I like. I had to increase the time and liquid for the lentils to cook. I also added 1/2 a can of tomato paste, some chopped carrots, roasted red pepper, and roasted corn. For extra liquid I added two small cans of V8 and another whole can of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I substituted the 2 cups of tomatoes for a 14 1/2 ounce can of petite diced tomatoes (the liquid included!) I am also watching my carbs so I substituted the bulgur wheat for 2 cups of chopped celery, and substituted the vegetable oil for olive oil. I did cook it a little while longer than the recipe called for. It was fantastic! We ate it with cornbread (it could have also been a nice side dish, or over white rice)Next time I think I will attempt to throw it in the crock-pot and see how it turns out. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe was really good, but I boiled the lentils for about 45 mnutes and they were still really hard. Next time I think I will soak overnight and then follow the recipe here. Flavors were really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States