Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is really good. It required quite a bit more liquid than called for. I used 6 cups of veggie broth and used a can of tomatoes (including the liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was really good! I used barley instead of bulgur and added a can of kidney beans and some celery. I did miss having more vegetables in it so next time I'll add more celery, peppers and any other veggies I have in the fridge. Otherwise a very good, filling meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, but I think you need to add a few things to make it really flavorful. I didn't have bulgar wheat; I subbed a can of corn and a can of black beans. I also added a pinch of cinnamon, and when I make this next time I will also add some bell pepper, cocoa and maybe a chipotle in adobo sauce. Oh - and definitely soak the lentils overnight before cooking. I did, and I didn't have to add extra liquid or extend the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great Recipe, I added kidney beans and ground beef to make it more a chilli dish. came out amazing. the lentils i read from other reviewers that they had to soak them overnight and cooked it for an hour. I didn't have that problem. i soaked my lentils for about 2 hrs and cooked no more than 40 minutes. it was a success. my husband loved it too. will be making it again, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Great recipe! Even my 2-year old ate it. Though definitely need to boil up or soak the lentils longer than suggested. I boiled mine for 30 mins and had them in the chili on a slow cook for over 2 hours and the lentils were still a little hard. I added more veggies like carrots, celery and green peppers. It came out very well though I doubled the spices (but not the salt) as we like our food very flavorful. I also took the recommendation from another reviewer and added red kidney beans. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used pearl barley instead of the bulgur wheat and added a can of spicy beans in chili sauce. It turned out great! But did need a bit longer to cook, I left it on low after the first 30 minutes and let is simmer for about an hour. It could also use a bit more spice and I might add crushed red next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This got rave reviews from everyone who ate it. I do recommend soaking the bulgur and lentils (together) overnight and adding more stock/broth than the recipe calls for. It continued to soak up the liquid and got thicker as it stood. A little shredded cheddar, a dollop of sour cream and a squeeze of lime...perfect! Great delicious, guilt free recipe...I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this chili was. The bulger really bulks it up, giving it a more meaty texture than ordinary no-meat chili. And my three children, who normally turn their noses at anything different, ate it without a fuss. If I had to do it again, though, I would boil the lentils on thier own for a while first. It took an hour of simmering, and adding extra chicken broth, before they were tender enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
It was good but it needs beans for me to consider it chili. Next time I think I will half the lentils and bulgur wheat and add 2 can of beans. I highly recommend soaking the lentils and bulgur wheat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
One of my personal favorties and I add ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States