Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It was so easy to make! I added kidneys beans too. A great meatless meal that fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious! And an awesome recipe for a new vegetarian! Like many others I pre-cooked the lentils for about 25 minutes prior to adding them to the recipe. I substituted veggie broth for chicken broth, and 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes. I also added a can of undrained pink beans to it as well. Even my husband who is a die-hard meat eater thought it tasted great, and had a wonderful *meaty* texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I used half a cup of bulgur and added 2 rinsed cans of kidney beans. Upped chili to 3 T and cumin to 2 T and added a few dashes of cinnamon and a t or so of cocoa powder. Used BTB beef base. I kept thinking it was missing something so I added a can of HOT Rotel. Still missing something so I added half a can of tomato paste. That made it perfect. I steamed my lentils first, I like the texture better that way. I messed with it but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I happen to have every single ingredient available and it made a big pot. I winded up freezing the leftovers to use another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is really good. It required quite a bit more liquid than called for. I used 6 cups of veggie broth and used a can of tomatoes (including the liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was really good! I used barley instead of bulgur and added a can of kidney beans and some celery. I did miss having more vegetables in it so next time I'll add more celery, peppers and any other veggies I have in the fridge. Otherwise a very good, filling meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, but I think you need to add a few things to make it really flavorful. I didn't have bulgar wheat; I subbed a can of corn and a can of black beans. I also added a pinch of cinnamon, and when I make this next time I will also add some bell pepper, cocoa and maybe a chipotle in adobo sauce. Oh - and definitely soak the lentils overnight before cooking. I did, and I didn't have to add extra liquid or extend the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great Recipe, I added kidney beans and ground beef to make it more a chilli dish. came out amazing. the lentils i read from other reviewers that they had to soak them overnight and cooked it for an hour. I didn't have that problem. i soaked my lentils for about 2 hrs and cooked no more than 40 minutes. it was a success. my husband loved it too. will be making it again, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Great recipe! Even my 2-year old ate it. Though definitely need to boil up or soak the lentils longer than suggested. I boiled mine for 30 mins and had them in the chili on a slow cook for over 2 hours and the lentils were still a little hard. I added more veggies like carrots, celery and green peppers. It came out very well though I doubled the spices (but not the salt) as we like our food very flavorful. I also took the recommendation from another reviewer and added red kidney beans. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used pearl barley instead of the bulgur wheat and added a can of spicy beans in chili sauce. It turned out great! But did need a bit longer to cook, I left it on low after the first 30 minutes and let is simmer for about an hour. It could also use a bit more spice and I might add crushed red next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States