Lentil Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Recipe is great but I did a few changes, the vegetable oil I change to olive oil and the dry bulgur wheat I change to 1/2 of ground beef, the lentils I soaked it in water for one hour and then boiled it got soft. But the recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosme1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This chili was so good that I didn't miss the beef or the noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was a good start, but needed a fair bit of doctoring up to really be interesting. It also required far more water than required. Just think: lentils and bulghur need way more than 3 cups of water to cook! I would estimate that I added an additional 5 cups of water during the cook time. For extra flavor, we added ground turkey, some red wine vinegar, and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I "Doctored-up" this recipe quite a bit, however, it is a very good base for lentil soup. I used olive oil instead of veggie oil, 4 c. chicken broth, and 2 14.5 oz. cans diced tomatoes (1 w/ green chilies + 1 plain) instead of the whole tomatoes. I didn't have any chili powder, so I tossed in about 1/2 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and 1/4 tsp. black pepper. My husband thought it looked a little wimpy, so I added about 7 slices of jarred hot jalapenos (minced), 2 med. chicken breasts cut into 1/2" cubes, a chicken bouillon cube (crumbled), and about 5 c. water. Even thought I cooked it about 20 min. longer than the recipe called for, the lentils were still al dente. Served it with a salad (Spring Mix, carrots, cucumbers, & tomatoes). 3 out of 4 adults eating it liked it a lot. Next time, I think I will soak the lentils before cooking, and add some sliced celery and bell peppers when I saute the onions & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was very tasty and something I'll add to my regular rotation with an "open" attitude. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and barley instead of bulgur because it's what I had. I loved the nutty taste of the lentils and barley. As others said, it needs more liquid. I am freezing the rest and will add more liquid and whatever goodies I have on hand when I need a good dinner. I also agree it would be a good crockpot meal because the lentils and grains need more than 30 minutes to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday cause I had about 2 cups of ready-to-eat lentils from Trader Joe's. I only had 8 oz of veggie broth, so I added a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes w/basil and maybe 1/2 cup of water in place of 2 cups of tomatoes and the other 2 cups of broth since the lentils were already cooked and I only needed the cup of bulgur to soak up liquid. I added another Tbs of cumin also, because I didn't have chili powder. I had some leftover pesto filled tortelini from Trader Joe's also, so I added that too. IT WAS DELICIOUS! I will make this again and again... great chili! Thank you! I know it sounds like I changed a lot, but I really didn't. I 'improvised" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
It was so easy to make! I added kidneys beans too. A great meatless meal that fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious! And an awesome recipe for a new vegetarian! Like many others I pre-cooked the lentils for about 25 minutes prior to adding them to the recipe. I substituted veggie broth for chicken broth, and 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the whole tomatoes. I also added a can of undrained pink beans to it as well. Even my husband who is a die-hard meat eater thought it tasted great, and had a wonderful *meaty* texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I used half a cup of bulgur and added 2 rinsed cans of kidney beans. Upped chili to 3 T and cumin to 2 T and added a few dashes of cinnamon and a t or so of cocoa powder. Used BTB beef base. I kept thinking it was missing something so I added a can of HOT Rotel. Still missing something so I added half a can of tomato paste. That made it perfect. I steamed my lentils first, I like the texture better that way. I messed with it but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I happen to have every single ingredient available and it made a big pot. I winded up freezing the leftovers to use another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States