Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very tasty. I never had lentils before this recipe. I goofed when making it, however, and used the big (29 oz) cans of tomato sauce and crushed tomato because my sister wouldn't shut up and I couldn't concentrate. Anyhow, I am glad to have the extra tomato because it is still pretty thick (no liquid residue in a bowl of it). I did add more seasonings (packet of chili seasoning) to temper the tomato. Overall this recipe is very good - my mom and husband both love it. Also I used one of the other reviewers' tips and ate it with tortilla chips and MMMmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Followed the recipe except subbed half the water for red wine, and left out the butter. Also added the carrots and celery when I added the water. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarwaffle
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I've never really liked chili but I was looking for something to make to use up some celery and lentils. This was it. Changes I made: I halfed the recipe. Started with garlic, onions, olive oil, and 1 pkg Yves veggie ground round (original). Cooked them up and added some soy sauce and all of the seasonings in the recipe. Then I added 1 cup of lentils, an entire can of tomato paste, and 14 oz of diced tomatoes (because it needed the extra liquid for the ground round), and then the water (4 cups). Then I followed the rest of the recipe basically. Turned out really surprisingly well. I ate a lot upon first tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarwaffle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Wow, thought I'd made up an original recipe until I did a search! I used spiced chili powder (which has oregano, garlic, cumin and mild chili powder), California chili powder (mild and sweet), threw in a whole jalapeno and some pepper flakes, and two (small) cans of tomato sauce instead of the paste. It was so thick and had such great flavor and texture. The hubby loved it, and we have been snacking on it since dinner last night. I would have thrown in another jalapeno (or two!), but the hubby can't take a lot of spice. He thought it was perfect with the one. This is the first time I've cooked with raw lentils and I could not believe how easy it was and how good it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I think I would call this more of a stew than a chili. Following other reviewers' suggestions, I halved the recipe other than the tomatoes. It was just a touch sour for my taste; I would probably follow it more strictly next time, but add more chili powder so that it tastes like chili. My husband loved it the way I did it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe was a great to work off of. we love tomatoes, so I halved the recipe except for the tomatoes and paste. I think that next time I will add even more tomatoes and carrots. i also used diced as opposed to crushed tomatoes. I might even think about adding other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
You definitely need a large pot! I started out doing what the recipe called for, but then I tasted it half way through and it was bland so I added more spice. I also added mushrooms with the veggies. This batch made enough for a couple days and two tubs to freeze for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
WOW!!!!!! Such incredible taste! I have never left a review before, but I just had to this time. This is a very tasty dish, I poured it over white rice, and it was excellent in every way and I'm not a lentils person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
amazing. I tried this recipe when I was trying some healthier alternatives for myself and now it is a regular on the houshold menu. Vegtarian and confirmed 'meat eaters' raved about it. My kids had seconds and I can serve it to my vegan friends. I put all the ingredients in a crock pot for at least 6 hours, adding a bit more cumin powder and carrots. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious, healthy, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States