Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
As with all the other cooks, I've had to doctor this recipe up a bit. I've doubled the chili powder and crushed tomatoes, plus added a bottle of chili sauce. Husband likes the taste, but it's too mild for my liking. It also makes a TON of chili! I should have paid attention to that before I started. We'll have food in the freezer for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeHedstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Seemed just like any other chili. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Me and my husband LOVED this soup. It is so healthy and scrummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was delicious. I used dry green peas and lentils. Followed exact times and it was perfect. Will definitely fix a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elo03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I amped up the heat with about a teaspoon each of crushed red pepper and cayenne, plus a generous dose of fresh ground black pepper. Turned out spicy but not unbearably hot. I also added about a teaspoon of ground nutmeg. Great hearty stew! The carrots could be added earlier to soften more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very tasty-I doubled the garlic though, and used a bit of dried red Indonesian peppers (very spicy though, you may not want too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
good concept, but way too bland. I made it as is, then I added a packet of chili seasoning, tripled all the seasonings and the liquid was too bland. Won't make it again - we actually threw away the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Very simple, very good I put all raw ingredients in a slow cooker and cooked all day while at work. Good wholesome meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Four cups of onion sounded over the top, so I stopped at three cups. After reading the reviews I added more chili powder. I tasted and then added more cumin. I tasted again and added chipotle pepper. I tasted yet again and added smoked paprika. Finally, I added some Penzey's chicken base and it was what I was looking for. My daughter and her friend ate this up, covered in an Italian cheese mix. Four stars as written, but as adjusted for our tastes, a five star winner. Thanks for a heatlthy, inexpensive recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States