Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Delicious and very hearty! I used 1/2 onion and 1/2 cabbage. Even with adding an extra tbsp. of chili powder, it still needs more kick. I have lots of leftovers too which is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I substituted zucchini and mushrooms instead of the carrots and celery, added a little bit of worcestershire and ketchup and BAM it was amazing. Top it off with cheddar cheese and it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
because this recipe is extremely dietary, i give it a 5. make sure to load up on the spices though....and add cayenne for heat (maybe a tsp if you like it HOT). i have to say though, w/o meet this looks filling but you will be hungry in a few hours so you might want to follow other cooks and add some meat. I ended up adding some leftover mexican-style shredded chicken that I made in the slow cooker and it was awesome. Overall, I think that chicken is more complimentary than adding ground beef or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I'm sooo glad I found this recipe!!! I really love chili and love lentils so I decided to give this a try. Because many reviews said it was bland I decided to add all the same seasonings I add to my good old beef Chili recipe. Chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, sweet smoked paprika, chipolte powder, and oregano. I also added a chopped green pepper and instead of The large can of crushed tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis, a small can of mexican stewed tomatoes and and a small can of tomato sauce. Also, I believe that good chili must be made with bear so I addd a bottle of bear with the tomatos. It came out FABULOUS!!!! Next time I will add some chopped zucchini with the carrots and celery. I will definately be making this again and again and again........ =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have crushed tomatoes so i just used tomato sauce instead. I also added green bell peppers. This is on our dinner roatation from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
We liked this recipe. I followed the recipe's spice amounts and I thought, although it was mild, still had great flavor. and it wasn't too spicy for my toddlers to eat. Eliminate the butter and you have a very good, easy vegan meal. Makes tons. My 6.5 Qt Le Creuset was barely big enough to contain it all. Oh, we did add a can of kidney beans (we like beans). Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
If you add corn you have a complete protein. I also doubled the spices. Quick, easy and freezes like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I added double the spices, a bit of cayenne, and some freshly roasted peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Truly wonderful. Easy to make, I did need to double the spices for our taste. A dash of cayenne made all the difference. Thanks for a low sodium, low cholesterol dish! We'll see if it can take the place of my husband's favorite beef chili recipe this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Fabulous. One small change: we substituted fresh for canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States