Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was very good. My husband and i loved it. We ate it with tortilla chips and cheddar cheese over the top. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious, healthy, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
You definitely need a large pot! I started out doing what the recipe called for, but then I tasted it half way through and it was bland so I added more spice. I also added mushrooms with the veggies. This batch made enough for a couple days and two tubs to freeze for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
WOW!!!!!! Such incredible taste! I have never left a review before, but I just had to this time. This is a very tasty dish, I poured it over white rice, and it was excellent in every way and I'm not a lentils person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great recipe!! I added double the chili powder and it spiced it up to perfection. My husband loved it so much he brought it to work for some co-workers. Everybody loved it!! Taking "Beano" first is always a good idea with any kind of bean.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
amazing. I tried this recipe when I was trying some healthier alternatives for myself and now it is a regular on the houshold menu. Vegtarian and confirmed 'meat eaters' raved about it. My kids had seconds and I can serve it to my vegan friends. I put all the ingredients in a crock pot for at least 6 hours, adding a bit more cumin powder and carrots. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I think I would call this more of a stew than a chili. Following other reviewers' suggestions, I halved the recipe other than the tomatoes. It was just a touch sour for my taste; I would probably follow it more strictly next time, but add more chili powder so that it tastes like chili. My husband loved it the way I did it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very tasty. I never had lentils before this recipe. I goofed when making it, however, and used the big (29 oz) cans of tomato sauce and crushed tomato because my sister wouldn't shut up and I couldn't concentrate. Anyhow, I am glad to have the extra tomato because it is still pretty thick (no liquid residue in a bowl of it). I did add more seasonings (packet of chili seasoning) to temper the tomato. Overall this recipe is very good - my mom and husband both love it. Also I used one of the other reviewers' tips and ate it with tortilla chips and MMMmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty chili! I made it with cayenne pepper instead ( did not have chili powder ) and added tomato bouillion with chicken flavor. This was a flavorful chili! Do not skimp on the garlic!!! I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe, but I don't like cooked carrots and my bf doesn't like celery so I substituted corn and small cubed potatos. This might sound weird, but it was really tasty and gave the chili a little more volume. It gave me a great excuse to cook my red lentils! I would also say that (being born in Texas and having a deep love of spicy things) if you want a spicy dish you REALLY have to amp up the spice. I used about triple the chili powder and cayenne pepper and red pepper and black pepper than the recipe calls for. I tasted it after initially putting in my spices and couldn't taste anything but the tomato. Still the base of the recipe was a great idea; I'll certainly be cooking it again. Note: add a good crusty, warm french bread for a real homey/happy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmeadville

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States