Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great recipe!! I added double the chili powder and it spiced it up to perfection. My husband loved it so much he brought it to work for some co-workers. Everybody loved it!! Taking "Beano" first is always a good idea with any kind of bean.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
amazing. I tried this recipe when I was trying some healthier alternatives for myself and now it is a regular on the houshold menu. Vegtarian and confirmed 'meat eaters' raved about it. My kids had seconds and I can serve it to my vegan friends. I put all the ingredients in a crock pot for at least 6 hours, adding a bit more cumin powder and carrots. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was very good. My husband and i loved it. We ate it with tortilla chips and cheddar cheese over the top. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
WOW!!!!!! Such incredible taste! I have never left a review before, but I just had to this time. This is a very tasty dish, I poured it over white rice, and it was excellent in every way and I'm not a lentils person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious, healthy, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
You definitely need a large pot! I started out doing what the recipe called for, but then I tasted it half way through and it was bland so I added more spice. I also added mushrooms with the veggies. This batch made enough for a couple days and two tubs to freeze for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I think I would call this more of a stew than a chili. Following other reviewers' suggestions, I halved the recipe other than the tomatoes. It was just a touch sour for my taste; I would probably follow it more strictly next time, but add more chili powder so that it tastes like chili. My husband loved it the way I did it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very tasty. I never had lentils before this recipe. I goofed when making it, however, and used the big (29 oz) cans of tomato sauce and crushed tomato because my sister wouldn't shut up and I couldn't concentrate. Anyhow, I am glad to have the extra tomato because it is still pretty thick (no liquid residue in a bowl of it). I did add more seasonings (packet of chili seasoning) to temper the tomato. Overall this recipe is very good - my mom and husband both love it. Also I used one of the other reviewers' tips and ate it with tortilla chips and MMMmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty chili! I made it with cayenne pepper instead ( did not have chili powder ) and added tomato bouillion with chicken flavor. This was a flavorful chili! Do not skimp on the garlic!!! I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe, but I don't like cooked carrots and my bf doesn't like celery so I substituted corn and small cubed potatos. This might sound weird, but it was really tasty and gave the chili a little more volume. It gave me a great excuse to cook my red lentils! I would also say that (being born in Texas and having a deep love of spicy things) if you want a spicy dish you REALLY have to amp up the spice. I used about triple the chili powder and cayenne pepper and red pepper and black pepper than the recipe calls for. I tasted it after initially putting in my spices and couldn't taste anything but the tomato. Still the base of the recipe was a great idea; I'll certainly be cooking it again. Note: add a good crusty, warm french bread for a real homey/happy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmeadville

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States