Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made some changes to this recipe, but I loved the end result. I omitted the oil and butter. I used about 1 1/2 cups of onions and 3 minced garlic cloves. I used 1/2 lb. of lentils and 1/2 lb. of lean ground turkey, and I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed. I didn't adjust the spices at all, but it could have used a little more heat. I will make my version again. It was really yummy, and weight watchers- friendly, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
amazing. I tried this recipe when I was trying some healthier alternatives for myself and now it is a regular on the houshold menu. Vegtarian and confirmed 'meat eaters' raved about it. My kids had seconds and I can serve it to my vegan friends. I put all the ingredients in a crock pot for at least 6 hours, adding a bit more cumin powder and carrots. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I loved this recipe, but I don't like cooked carrots and my bf doesn't like celery so I substituted corn and small cubed potatos. This might sound weird, but it was really tasty and gave the chili a little more volume. It gave me a great excuse to cook my red lentils! I would also say that (being born in Texas and having a deep love of spicy things) if you want a spicy dish you REALLY have to amp up the spice. I used about triple the chili powder and cayenne pepper and red pepper and black pepper than the recipe calls for. I tasted it after initially putting in my spices and couldn't taste anything but the tomato. Still the base of the recipe was a great idea; I'll certainly be cooking it again. Note: add a good crusty, warm french bread for a real homey/happy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmeadville

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Great recipe!! I added double the chili powder and it spiced it up to perfection. My husband loved it so much he brought it to work for some co-workers. Everybody loved it!! Taking "Beano" first is always a good idea with any kind of bean.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
WOW!!!!!! Such incredible taste! I have never left a review before, but I just had to this time. This is a very tasty dish, I poured it over white rice, and it was excellent in every way and I'm not a lentils person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was very good. My husband and i loved it. We ate it with tortilla chips and cheddar cheese over the top. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yummy! I gave it four stars because like other reviews said, I did need to add spices and I also used the whole can of crushed tomatoes. I also added red and green bell peppers and a small can of corn (kept the carrots but skipped the celery) and I think the corn made it extra good. We ate it with the vegan agave corn muffin recipe on this site and it was an awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was okay, but it needed more flavor. My husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
You definitely need a large pot! I started out doing what the recipe called for, but then I tasted it half way through and it was bland so I added more spice. I also added mushrooms with the veggies. This batch made enough for a couple days and two tubs to freeze for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is FANTASTIC. My only complaint is that it makes such a huge amount. Next time, I'll have to cut the recipe in half or even in thirds. Great for freezing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States