Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very good! I double the spices because I like things spicy. I may have cooked it too long, the lentils ended up mushy and broke down to almost moosh. Again, my fault. Aside from the texture it was very good. Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I did not enjoy this very much. I took into account all the suggestions others left and added more spices. It still lacked taste. Some seemed to enjoy this so it probably is just a matter of what you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I omitted the oil and butter and added all the ingredients except celery and carrot at the beginning. The chili is very tasty and freezes well, but I did have to cook it about 20 more minutes that called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am moving my family to a more Mediterranean diet and this really fit the ticket! My changes were: I added 1 cup of red beans to give it a more traditional 'chili' appearance. I also threw in maybe 2 cups of ground turkey that i had in the freezer. This was easy to spice up and make delish. My husband LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
A new cold weather staple in our house! I'm always looking for new ways to use lentils, and this chili is hearty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Needed some additional "kick", so I added some extra chili powder and some cayenne papper. Other than that...easy to make and tasty. I like lentils thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I'm really not a super spicy person, but I could not for the life of me taste the spices in this chili! It was *very* bland and watery after my initial taste test. I threw in a TON more seasonings (and I mean a ton) of random whatever I thought would go good in a chili, plus added some chicken broth and I *finally* got some flavor into that thing! I only added 1 1/2 quart of water and figured it'd be fine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I added and changed a few things, but it was great! I did not use any oil or buter. I did use 1 pack of lentils, 1 can of tomato sauce, 2 cans of chicken broth, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 chili seasoning packet, salt and pepper, then added onion, broccoli, mushrooms, and cut up spinach. I served with cheese on top. It never hurts to add some more veggies...the taste was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I made this for my family last night and EVERYONE loved it! My youngest who is 22 months and usually very picky ate everything on his plate! The only thing I changed was I just didn't add a can of tomatoes, just used tomato paste instead (thats what I had on hand). Thanks for such a wonder dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theopa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
As with all the other cooks, I've had to doctor this recipe up a bit. I've doubled the chili powder and crushed tomatoes, plus added a bottle of chili sauce. Husband likes the taste, but it's too mild for my liking. It also makes a TON of chili! I should have paid attention to that before I started. We'll have food in the freezer for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeHedstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States