Lentil Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is really good and I highly recommend giving it a try. I actually made mine in the slow cooker and it turned out perfect. I cooked it on high for 5 hours because I was a little short on time. The only changes I made were to use 1tsp of garlic powder instead of garlic, I am pregnant and I can not stand the smell of raw garlic right now...and I also used 1 qt of chicken broth and 1 qt of water. As for the spices I used a little more than the measurements given here. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Omitted celery and reduced spices to the taste of our household (I see that some reviewers actually increased the spices!). Most of household loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Made this as the veggie option for a party - Everyone loved it. Went down better than the chicken dish. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Delicious and very hearty! I used 1/2 onion and 1/2 cabbage. Even with adding an extra tbsp. of chili powder, it still needs more kick. I have lots of leftovers too which is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I substituted zucchini and mushrooms instead of the carrots and celery, added a little bit of worcestershire and ketchup and BAM it was amazing. Top it off with cheddar cheese and it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
because this recipe is extremely dietary, i give it a 5. make sure to load up on the spices though....and add cayenne for heat (maybe a tsp if you like it HOT). i have to say though, w/o meet this looks filling but you will be hungry in a few hours so you might want to follow other cooks and add some meat. I ended up adding some leftover mexican-style shredded chicken that I made in the slow cooker and it was awesome. Overall, I think that chicken is more complimentary than adding ground beef or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I'm sooo glad I found this recipe!!! I really love chili and love lentils so I decided to give this a try. Because many reviews said it was bland I decided to add all the same seasonings I add to my good old beef Chili recipe. Chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, sweet smoked paprika, chipolte powder, and oregano. I also added a chopped green pepper and instead of The large can of crushed tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis, a small can of mexican stewed tomatoes and and a small can of tomato sauce. Also, I believe that good chili must be made with bear so I addd a bottle of bear with the tomatos. It came out FABULOUS!!!! Next time I will add some chopped zucchini with the carrots and celery. I will definately be making this again and again and again........ =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have crushed tomatoes so i just used tomato sauce instead. I also added green bell peppers. This is on our dinner roatation from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
We liked this recipe. I followed the recipe's spice amounts and I thought, although it was mild, still had great flavor. and it wasn't too spicy for my toddlers to eat. Eliminate the butter and you have a very good, easy vegan meal. Makes tons. My 6.5 Qt Le Creuset was barely big enough to contain it all. Oh, we did add a can of kidney beans (we like beans). Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
If you add corn you have a complete protein. I also doubled the spices. Quick, easy and freezes like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States