Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I cooked a chopped onion with the lentils instead of using soup. These cook up well with the bread crumbs, but they do well without it, too! The eggs really could be elinminated. We liked the taste and the ease of making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very tasty! We are not veggies, but we loved this anyway. Did not use cereal (didn't have any) and only used half of the soup mix. I was afraid of the salt content. We ate the patties with Sweet Chile Sauce that you can buy at the chinese grocery store. It's kinda like a duck sauce with a kick. Thanks for the recipe, again, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Really good. Easy to make and very substantial. I put them on buns or toasted whole grain bread with lettuce tomato and ketchup and american cheese. Take care to use the minimum time possible if microwaving to reheat as they will get too dry if you mic them too long. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
We really liked these - very flavorful and filling! Left out the walnuts with no negative results. I mixed them up in my food processor. I served them as the 'meat' in a meal with mashed potatoes, vegetable gravy, green beans, whole wheat rolls and salad. Meatless meals are new to my family, and I was so pleased to find something easy and nutritious that everyone enjoyed. I think this simple and tasty recipe will be used often at my house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Great recipe, I added parmesan cheese and omitted the walnuts. Instead of frying I baked in the oven on sprayed cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I must say that I will never buy frozen veggie burgers again. This were so good. I halved tghe recipe as my husband is the only veggie in the house but I did taste them. He ENJOYED them! I boiled lentils with a veggie cube and I put pepper instead of poultry seasoning. I also used oatmeal instead of the wheat and barley cereal. Left out walnuts but added some bread crubs to the mixture as well as rolled them in it. YUMMMY! This recipe will stay around in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thiswifebakes
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were a really great surprise. I made them this week and they have a wonderful flavor and texture. I did not coat in breadcrumbs and the browned lentils in the pan were really tasty. I served them on hamburger buns with all of the fixins....good stuff. They don't reheat well, though, so only cook them to order and save the leftover mix for leftover night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I made these for my daughter who is a vegetarian. I also used oatmeal which I had on hand. She (and her friend) loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These were a true surprise, they were great! Usually I find that lentils overpower most recipes, but here they are wonderful. These are best immediately after cooking, but I also liked crumbling a patty over a salad. Next time I will leave the mixture uncooked and just cook as many as I need each time; I'll have to see how the mix holds up in the refrigerator. I recommend this recipe, it's a tasty winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
So Delicious!!!! I have tried several lentil burger recipes and this one wins hands down. The whole family loved it(including my 6 year old). I accidently mixed the breadcrumbs in with the rest of the mixture, instead of rolling the patties in it as the recipe instructs and they still turned out great. I put them in a pan in the freezer after forming the patties for 20 minutes before cooking them. I'm freezing my leftover patties in individual zip lock bags in the freezer for dinner later in the week. This is the best lentil burger/pattie recipe ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States