Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
As a healthnut, I'm rating this very high because I've changed it to be 'very-Healthy.' I try to include ingredients that provide the most-nutritional benefit, cut calories and fat, and include good fats and flavor. This is my healthy version of this recipe: The first [4] ingredients stay the same. I used 1/2 cup oatmeal, 2 egg whites, 1 chopped RED onion, 1/2 cup shredded Reduced-FAT Pepper Jack cheese (optional), 4 oz Vanilla Greek yogurt (Chobani), 1/2 tsp of each: oregano, cumin, garlic pwdr, & Cayenne Pepper, and 2 tblsp. olive or canola oil... I cooked the lentils in water first. Then, drained and added them to everything else. (I don't like my veggies mushy, so I DON'T saute them before forming patties). Shaped into patties, and baked @ 375 for 12 to 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Great recipe, I added parmesan cheese and omitted the walnuts. Instead of frying I baked in the oven on sprayed cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very tasty! We are not veggies, but we loved this anyway. Did not use cereal (didn't have any) and only used half of the soup mix. I was afraid of the salt content. We ate the patties with Sweet Chile Sauce that you can buy at the chinese grocery store. It's kinda like a duck sauce with a kick. Thanks for the recipe, again, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Pretty good, but very easy and cheap, especially if you omit the walnuts like I did. Didn't have poultry seasoning so I used a mix of oregano, parsely, black pepper, dash of coriander and some garlic powder. I also used red lentils instead of brown, since that is what I had. Mixed a few breadcrumbs in, but didn't bread them on the outside. Ate with ketchup and honey mustard. Probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I made these for my daughter who is a vegetarian. I also used oatmeal which I had on hand. She (and her friend) loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were a really great surprise. I made them this week and they have a wonderful flavor and texture. I did not coat in breadcrumbs and the browned lentils in the pan were really tasty. I served them on hamburger buns with all of the fixins....good stuff. They don't reheat well, though, so only cook them to order and save the leftover mix for leftover night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I really did enjoy this recipe. I did add a handfull of flax seeds. I think this recipie freezes well. I like to eat these crispified patties with fried mushrooms/onions and melted swiss topped off with steamy marinara sauce, it's very delicious and thank you for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
These were perfect substitutes for hamburgers! I left out the bread crumbs because I didn't have any, but these lentil patties were still lovely. They were somewhat crumbly, so I think next time I will put all the ingredients in a blender so they really mix into one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These were so delicious! I am trying to eat more beans and lentils, so I decided to give this recipe a try. I had cooked lentils before, but really hated them, so I was skeptical about these at first. I couldn't find brown lentils at the grocery store, so I used green instead. I used almond milk instead of cows milk, 1 cup of quick oats instead of wheat barley cereal, egg substitute instead of real eggs, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and finally I put two pieces of multi grain bread in the toaster, and then put them in the blender to make the bread crumbs. I also put the walnuts in the blender to chop them up. I ate them without a bun and just added ketchup. I fell in love at first bite! This is saying a lot. I am a very fussy eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Just finished making these, they're delicious. I didn't have any cereal on hand, so I added 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs to the mixture. I did not bread them before frying. I will definitely make this recipe again but will try using a blender next time to make them less 'lentil-y'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States