Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Easy to make, these are patties are delicious - I strongly recommend them for vegetarians - they are more flavorful than the frozen veggie patties at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
These were perfect substitutes for hamburgers! I left out the bread crumbs because I didn't have any, but these lentil patties were still lovely. They were somewhat crumbly, so I think next time I will put all the ingredients in a blender so they really mix into one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Pretty good, but very easy and cheap, especially if you omit the walnuts like I did. Didn't have poultry seasoning so I used a mix of oregano, parsely, black pepper, dash of coriander and some garlic powder. I also used red lentils instead of brown, since that is what I had. Mixed a few breadcrumbs in, but didn't bread them on the outside. Ate with ketchup and honey mustard. Probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very tasty! We are not veggies, but we loved this anyway. Did not use cereal (didn't have any) and only used half of the soup mix. I was afraid of the salt content. We ate the patties with Sweet Chile Sauce that you can buy at the chinese grocery store. It's kinda like a duck sauce with a kick. Thanks for the recipe, again, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
these were wonderful! yummy in a wrap. perfect as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We liked this veggie burger. My husband is not a real experimental eater, but he liked it too. Instead of onion soup mix I used dried onion and a little soup base. I also added shredded carrots. Next time I'll not use the bread crumbs. I used some dill/cottage cheese bread I made in the bread machine. Yummy sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
very, very good. a little dry but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Just finished making these, they're delicious. I didn't have any cereal on hand, so I added 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs to the mixture. I did not bread them before frying. I will definitely make this recipe again but will try using a blender next time to make them less 'lentil-y'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this and it was very good. I added a few more spices to give it more flavor. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I really did enjoy this recipe. I did add a handfull of flax seeds. I think this recipie freezes well. I like to eat these crispified patties with fried mushrooms/onions and melted swiss topped off with steamy marinara sauce, it's very delicious and thank you for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States