Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Easy to make, these are patties are delicious - I strongly recommend them for vegetarians - they are more flavorful than the frozen veggie patties at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
These were perfect substitutes for hamburgers! I left out the bread crumbs because I didn't have any, but these lentil patties were still lovely. They were somewhat crumbly, so I think next time I will put all the ingredients in a blender so they really mix into one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Pretty good, but very easy and cheap, especially if you omit the walnuts like I did. Didn't have poultry seasoning so I used a mix of oregano, parsely, black pepper, dash of coriander and some garlic powder. I also used red lentils instead of brown, since that is what I had. Mixed a few breadcrumbs in, but didn't bread them on the outside. Ate with ketchup and honey mustard. Probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very tasty! We are not veggies, but we loved this anyway. Did not use cereal (didn't have any) and only used half of the soup mix. I was afraid of the salt content. We ate the patties with Sweet Chile Sauce that you can buy at the chinese grocery store. It's kinda like a duck sauce with a kick. Thanks for the recipe, again, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
these were wonderful! yummy in a wrap. perfect as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We liked this veggie burger. My husband is not a real experimental eater, but he liked it too. Instead of onion soup mix I used dried onion and a little soup base. I also added shredded carrots. Next time I'll not use the bread crumbs. I used some dill/cottage cheese bread I made in the bread machine. Yummy sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
very, very good. a little dry but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Just finished making these, they're delicious. I didn't have any cereal on hand, so I added 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs to the mixture. I did not bread them before frying. I will definitely make this recipe again but will try using a blender next time to make them less 'lentil-y'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this and it was very good. I added a few more spices to give it more flavor. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I really did enjoy this recipe. I did add a handfull of flax seeds. I think this recipie freezes well. I like to eat these crispified patties with fried mushrooms/onions and melted swiss topped off with steamy marinara sauce, it's very delicious and thank you for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States