Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
pretty good little patties! i followed the recipe, but subbed coriander and black pepper for the poultry seasoning (i don't eat sage), and i used panko bread crumbs with onion powder, garlic salt and dried parsley instead of the already seasoned kind. the flavor of the finished product was very nice, but could be worked on a bit. besides the above minor modifications, the only thing else i did differently was put the mix in a food pro to make them stick together better, while leaving about 1/2 cup unprocessed for visual purposes. one suggestion to all: flip them after about 3 minutes to check their progress. some of mine burned before the 5 minute point & left my house VERY smelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
These are very good. I always end up having to use more oil though to fry them in. I usually serve them as the 'meat' with rice or potatoes. You'll need to use a gravy if you decide to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I really did enjoy this recipe. I did add a handfull of flax seeds. I think this recipie freezes well. I like to eat these crispified patties with fried mushrooms/onions and melted swiss topped off with steamy marinara sauce, it's very delicious and thank you for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this and it was very good. I added a few more spices to give it more flavor. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Just finished making these, they're delicious. I didn't have any cereal on hand, so I added 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs to the mixture. I did not bread them before frying. I will definitely make this recipe again but will try using a blender next time to make them less 'lentil-y'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
very, very good. a little dry but great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We liked this veggie burger. My husband is not a real experimental eater, but he liked it too. Instead of onion soup mix I used dried onion and a little soup base. I also added shredded carrots. Next time I'll not use the bread crumbs. I used some dill/cottage cheese bread I made in the bread machine. Yummy sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
these were wonderful! yummy in a wrap. perfect as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very tasty! We are not veggies, but we loved this anyway. Did not use cereal (didn't have any) and only used half of the soup mix. I was afraid of the salt content. We ate the patties with Sweet Chile Sauce that you can buy at the chinese grocery store. It's kinda like a duck sauce with a kick. Thanks for the recipe, again, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Pretty good, but very easy and cheap, especially if you omit the walnuts like I did. Didn't have poultry seasoning so I used a mix of oregano, parsely, black pepper, dash of coriander and some garlic powder. I also used red lentils instead of brown, since that is what I had. Mixed a few breadcrumbs in, but didn't bread them on the outside. Ate with ketchup and honey mustard. Probably will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States