Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These were so delicious! I am trying to eat more beans and lentils, so I decided to give this recipe a try. I had cooked lentils before, but really hated them, so I was skeptical about these at first. I couldn't find brown lentils at the grocery store, so I used green instead. I used almond milk instead of cows milk, 1 cup of quick oats instead of wheat barley cereal, egg substitute instead of real eggs, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and finally I put two pieces of multi grain bread in the toaster, and then put them in the blender to make the bread crumbs. I also put the walnuts in the blender to chop them up. I ate them without a bun and just added ketchup. I fell in love at first bite! This is saying a lot. I am a very fussy eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
As a healthnut, I'm rating this very high because I've changed it to be 'very-Healthy.' I try to include ingredients that provide the most-nutritional benefit, cut calories and fat, and include good fats and flavor. This is my healthy version of this recipe: The first [4] ingredients stay the same. I used 1/2 cup oatmeal, 2 egg whites, 1 chopped RED onion, 1/2 cup shredded Reduced-FAT Pepper Jack cheese (optional), 4 oz Vanilla Greek yogurt (Chobani), 1/2 tsp of each: oregano, cumin, garlic pwdr, & Cayenne Pepper, and 2 tblsp. olive or canola oil... I cooked the lentils in water first. Then, drained and added them to everything else. (I don't like my veggies mushy, so I DON'T saute them before forming patties). Shaped into patties, and baked @ 375 for 12 to 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
They were really heavy. Not my favorite. After reading many of the reviews I think I'll try again, maybe I missed something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious! I recommend mashing the lentils before mixing with the other ingredients as these patties have a tendency to fall apart. The flavor is great, though, and my whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent "burger". I did not have any cereal so used saltine crackers instead. Added bread crumbs to mixture rather than rolling them in it. And used egg yolks instead of whole egg and soy milk instead of milk. Patties held together well even on the grill. Next time I will make the patties a little less thick, but definitely very moist and delicious. My teenage vegetarian loved them! And me too! Way better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
we enjoyed these -- my kids, especially! i used wheat bran b/c i had no cereal, and put everything in the cuisinart instead of mixing by hand. good texture and good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
My first time with 'veggie' patties. These turned out better than I had hoped. I used oats instead of cereal and threw in a little whole wheat flour (which I will eliminate the next time) to sub for the cereal and breadcrumbs. I made this as more of a 'fritatta' instead of individual patties - flipped it after 3-4 minutes on medium heat then cut it like a pie and served it with cherry tomatoes in olive oil, sea salt and balsamic vinegar. Very delicious and forgiving dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diRiccardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Wonderful veggie burger. Very easy and really good. Will make this again and again. Added a few extra flavors: cayenne, cumin and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Man, these little patties are fantastic! Much better than any processed frozen "thing" you get at the super market. I omitted the onion soup mix, I always add half a vegetable bullion cube to my lentils. I also added freshly chopped onion and mushrooms to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Surprisingly meaty! I read the comments and made a few adjustments. I used Bulgar wheat instead of cereal, no breadcrumbs or nuts and I baked them. I was skeptical that they would stay together, but they did. 350 in the oven for 12 minutes and we had burgers for dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States