Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These tasted great, but they were a little bit dry. I made them exactly as written, though I baked them instead of frying them. I'll make them again with a sauce to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This recipe was easy and turned out great. My 13 month old loved it and ate it the next day for lunch. I made my husband try a bite without a condiment to cover the flavor and he just kept eating. I used a grill seasoning (italian herb?) instead of the onion soup. Didn't put walnuts in it. Baked at 375 for 12 minutes. I cooked the lentils longer so they would smush together better. Next time I'm going to try a different seasoning and add a bit of cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I'm making this recipe for the second time now. My family just LOVES it. So much better than a store bought "veggie burger" - and so good for you too. Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Better than LOTS OF non-meat patties I've had, including store-bought. The texture is ground-beef-like (the nuts help), you can control the saltiness, I didn't wonder "What the heck is in this mystery fake meat thing?" as I ate, and it's SATISFYING in way others aren't. Used oats instead of Grape-Nuts. Great with A1 sauce. Like some other reviewers, next time I'll mash some up to help it stick together more. Maybe I'm frying wrong but it was too greasy so I baked them, turned out fine. And this made 10-12 burgers, good thing I liked it on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These were so delicious! I am trying to eat more beans and lentils, so I decided to give this recipe a try. I had cooked lentils before, but really hated them, so I was skeptical about these at first. I couldn't find brown lentils at the grocery store, so I used green instead. I used almond milk instead of cows milk, 1 cup of quick oats instead of wheat barley cereal, egg substitute instead of real eggs, olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and finally I put two pieces of multi grain bread in the toaster, and then put them in the blender to make the bread crumbs. I also put the walnuts in the blender to chop them up. I ate them without a bun and just added ketchup. I fell in love at first bite! This is saying a lot. I am a very fussy eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
As a healthnut, I'm rating this very high because I've changed it to be 'very-Healthy.' I try to include ingredients that provide the most-nutritional benefit, cut calories and fat, and include good fats and flavor. This is my healthy version of this recipe: The first [4] ingredients stay the same. I used 1/2 cup oatmeal, 2 egg whites, 1 chopped RED onion, 1/2 cup shredded Reduced-FAT Pepper Jack cheese (optional), 4 oz Vanilla Greek yogurt (Chobani), 1/2 tsp of each: oregano, cumin, garlic pwdr, & Cayenne Pepper, and 2 tblsp. olive or canola oil... I cooked the lentils in water first. Then, drained and added them to everything else. (I don't like my veggies mushy, so I DON'T saute them before forming patties). Shaped into patties, and baked @ 375 for 12 to 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
They were really heavy. Not my favorite. After reading many of the reviews I think I'll try again, maybe I missed something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious! I recommend mashing the lentils before mixing with the other ingredients as these patties have a tendency to fall apart. The flavor is great, though, and my whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Cox Gabbard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent "burger". I did not have any cereal so used saltine crackers instead. Added bread crumbs to mixture rather than rolling them in it. And used egg yolks instead of whole egg and soy milk instead of milk. Patties held together well even on the grill. Next time I will make the patties a little less thick, but definitely very moist and delicious. My teenage vegetarian loved them! And me too! Way better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Buglione

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
we enjoyed these -- my kids, especially! i used wheat bran b/c i had no cereal, and put everything in the cuisinart instead of mixing by hand. good texture and good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States