Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did change it a bit, and it was delish! I am on a no/low/sodium diet with low carbs, so I omitted the onion soup mix. I boiled the lentils with crushed tomatoes and basil added to the water, along with smoked paprika, garlic, onion, black pepper, dried chives, oregano and cayenne pepper sauce. I subbed oatmeal for the grape nuts. I also omitted the bread crumbs and nuts. I blended 1 red bell pepper, 1 red onion, mushrooms and a handful of baby carrots in a cuisinart, and added that to the cooked lentils and oatmeal. Subbed egg whites. Grilled on a flat top grill....amazing, my whole family raved. I topped mine with avocado and tomato, but others were putting it on a bun with all the fixing of a traditional burger. Great base recipe that one can build on to suit their own needs! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babycakes19
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very tasty! I had never had lentils before (to my knowledge), but I'm trying to eat better and found this recipe. I didn't add walnuts. I couldn't find dry brown lentils at the store, but found the canned version (which would be easier because you don't have to do the first step). However, I noticed the texture of the mixture didn't hold up well and was falling apart and making a mess. So I added and extra egg (total of 3), which did the trick! It was delicious! I made a lettuce wrapped burger with onion, tomato, avocado, ketchup, and Dijon mustard. I would definitely make this again. My boyfriend and our roommate, who are both not keen on healthier food options, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycakes19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
awful texture. the patties separated but the taste was pleasing so I just used it as a stir fried vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Never actually had lentil burgers work before! Great recipe as is, or I made a few tweaks: used oats instead of cereal. almond milk, replaced onion soup mix with my own seasoning, pecans instead of walnuts, and put the bread crumb into the mix instead. My 3 yr. old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Another variation on a great recipe is to cook the lentils in chicken stock, which gives them great flavor, mix the cooked lentils with 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup walnut, add a pinch of salt, and some chili flakes and pepper, two instead of three eggs, mix well, and then scoop out and dip patties in bread crumbs, and fry. Serve with yogurt sauce (yogurt, garlic, mint) and serve in warmed tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Not bad, but they fall apart significantly when you fry them. So, I plopped the rest of the batter in the fridge and took it out a few days later and baked them--for about 15 mins on each side, and it worked much much better. IMO baking is the way to go. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
So I made these because we're moving soon and I'm trying to get rid of stuff in my pantry. I had about a cup of lentils that's been in there for who knows how long. Anyway, because my goal was to decumulate, I was not going to go out and buy more ingredients. So here are my substitutions and let me say, this was quite delicious! Oatmeal instead of cereal, pecans instead of walnuts, ranch mix instead of onion soup mix/poultry seasoning. Yes, those are some major changes but the recipe author wrote that she also has played around with the ingredients too so I think she'd approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made these for my parents and they loved them. They both are serious meat eaters, but also both agreed that I should have made a double recipe so we could freeze some to have on hand all the time. I made them pretty much by the recipe, but used about half as much milk as called for and substituted oats for half of the Grape Nuts. I also didn't use the bread crumbs and cooked them on the bbq, making Mom and Dad feel like they were eating meat. Next time I will probably play around with the spices a little and go for a spicy, Mexican flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Amazing! I'm not a vegetarian and a fan of meat but these are still amazing! I like to prepare them in patties ahead of time and then freeze until I'm ready to cook them for an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I improvised just a little from the original recipe to create a vegan style Lentil Pattie. Instead of eggs, I used 4 TBS of ground flax and a small amt of water. This is a great binder as well. I also used soy milk instead of regular milk. Vegetarian or vegan style, this is a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan D

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States