Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Never actually had lentil burgers work before! Great recipe as is, or I made a few tweaks: used oats instead of cereal. almond milk, replaced onion soup mix with my own seasoning, pecans instead of walnuts, and put the bread crumb into the mix instead. My 3 yr. old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Another variation on a great recipe is to cook the lentils in chicken stock, which gives them great flavor, mix the cooked lentils with 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup walnut, add a pinch of salt, and some chili flakes and pepper, two instead of three eggs, mix well, and then scoop out and dip patties in bread crumbs, and fry. Serve with yogurt sauce (yogurt, garlic, mint) and serve in warmed tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Not bad, but they fall apart significantly when you fry them. So, I plopped the rest of the batter in the fridge and took it out a few days later and baked them--for about 15 mins on each side, and it worked much much better. IMO baking is the way to go. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
So I made these because we're moving soon and I'm trying to get rid of stuff in my pantry. I had about a cup of lentils that's been in there for who knows how long. Anyway, because my goal was to decumulate, I was not going to go out and buy more ingredients. So here are my substitutions and let me say, this was quite delicious! Oatmeal instead of cereal, pecans instead of walnuts, ranch mix instead of onion soup mix/poultry seasoning. Yes, those are some major changes but the recipe author wrote that she also has played around with the ingredients too so I think she'd approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made these for my parents and they loved them. They both are serious meat eaters, but also both agreed that I should have made a double recipe so we could freeze some to have on hand all the time. I made them pretty much by the recipe, but used about half as much milk as called for and substituted oats for half of the Grape Nuts. I also didn't use the bread crumbs and cooked them on the bbq, making Mom and Dad feel like they were eating meat. Next time I will probably play around with the spices a little and go for a spicy, Mexican flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Amazing! I'm not a vegetarian and a fan of meat but these are still amazing! I like to prepare them in patties ahead of time and then freeze until I'm ready to cook them for an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I improvised just a little from the original recipe to create a vegan style Lentil Pattie. Instead of eggs, I used 4 TBS of ground flax and a small amt of water. This is a great binder as well. I also used soy milk instead of regular milk. Vegetarian or vegan style, this is a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan D

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These tasted great, but they were a little bit dry. I made them exactly as written, though I baked them instead of frying them. I'll make them again with a sauce to go with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This recipe was easy and turned out great. My 13 month old loved it and ate it the next day for lunch. I made my husband try a bite without a condiment to cover the flavor and he just kept eating. I used a grill seasoning (italian herb?) instead of the onion soup. Didn't put walnuts in it. Baked at 375 for 12 minutes. I cooked the lentils longer so they would smush together better. Next time I'm going to try a different seasoning and add a bit of cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I'm making this recipe for the second time now. My family just LOVES it. So much better than a store bought "veggie burger" - and so good for you too. Thanks for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katkah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States