Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I've made this several times since I discovered it. We have triplet teens and both boys are strict vegetarians -- the rest of us eat only chicken/fish. We all consider the lentil burgers a genuine treat. I have used a small electric grinder to pulverize almonds (raw) instead of walnuts. I've also used cashew (raw or roasted with sea salt). Both are good. It's a great recipe to vary and it still comes out well. They can be "fragile" to handle when flattening into patties in bread crumbs and then put in the skillet. But they always turn out beautifully. We eat them like burgers, on thing whole wheat buns. Thanks, Susanne, and all those who comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Dry, and crumbly--don't make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just OK as is. Make sure they are pressed very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
WAY too salty. I tried to fix it by adding extra bread crumbs and oatmeal. Now it was too dry...added this and that... Salt , wheat & frying....what was I thinking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did change it a bit, and it was delish! I am on a no/low/sodium diet with low carbs, so I omitted the onion soup mix. I boiled the lentils with crushed tomatoes and basil added to the water, along with smoked paprika, garlic, onion, black pepper, dried chives, oregano and cayenne pepper sauce. I subbed oatmeal for the grape nuts. I also omitted the bread crumbs and nuts. I blended 1 red bell pepper, 1 red onion, mushrooms and a handful of baby carrots in a cuisinart, and added that to the cooked lentils and oatmeal. Subbed egg whites. Grilled on a flat top grill....amazing, my whole family raved. I topped mine with avocado and tomato, but others were putting it on a bun with all the fixing of a traditional burger. Great base recipe that one can build on to suit their own needs! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babycakes19
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very tasty! I had never had lentils before (to my knowledge), but I'm trying to eat better and found this recipe. I didn't add walnuts. I couldn't find dry brown lentils at the store, but found the canned version (which would be easier because you don't have to do the first step). However, I noticed the texture of the mixture didn't hold up well and was falling apart and making a mess. So I added and extra egg (total of 3), which did the trick! It was delicious! I made a lettuce wrapped burger with onion, tomato, avocado, ketchup, and Dijon mustard. I would definitely make this again. My boyfriend and our roommate, who are both not keen on healthier food options, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycakes19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
awful texture. the patties separated but the taste was pleasing so I just used it as a stir fried vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Never actually had lentil burgers work before! Great recipe as is, or I made a few tweaks: used oats instead of cereal. almond milk, replaced onion soup mix with my own seasoning, pecans instead of walnuts, and put the bread crumb into the mix instead. My 3 yr. old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Another variation on a great recipe is to cook the lentils in chicken stock, which gives them great flavor, mix the cooked lentils with 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup walnut, add a pinch of salt, and some chili flakes and pepper, two instead of three eggs, mix well, and then scoop out and dip patties in bread crumbs, and fry. Serve with yogurt sauce (yogurt, garlic, mint) and serve in warmed tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Not bad, but they fall apart significantly when you fry them. So, I plopped the rest of the batter in the fridge and took it out a few days later and baked them--for about 15 mins on each side, and it worked much much better. IMO baking is the way to go. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States