Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My Aunt gave me a recipe book from 1950 with this basic recipe in it. I have used it all these years. It has a lovely taste and great crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Callahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a very good fritata. I am always surprised on this site how many people say: Very good but I changed it, I enjoyed it... but changed it. If you like the recipe, say so. If you changed it, then you aren't rating the recipe, you are submitting a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I've made this several times since I discovered it. We have triplet teens and both boys are strict vegetarians -- the rest of us eat only chicken/fish. We all consider the lentil burgers a genuine treat. I have used a small electric grinder to pulverize almonds (raw) instead of walnuts. I've also used cashew (raw or roasted with sea salt). Both are good. It's a great recipe to vary and it still comes out well. They can be "fragile" to handle when flattening into patties in bread crumbs and then put in the skillet. But they always turn out beautifully. We eat them like burgers, on thing whole wheat buns. Thanks, Susanne, and all those who comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Dry, and crumbly--don't make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just OK as is. Make sure they are pressed very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
WAY too salty. I tried to fix it by adding extra bread crumbs and oatmeal. Now it was too dry...added this and that... Salt , wheat & frying....what was I thinking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did change it a bit, and it was delish! I am on a no/low/sodium diet with low carbs, so I omitted the onion soup mix. I boiled the lentils with crushed tomatoes and basil added to the water, along with smoked paprika, garlic, onion, black pepper, dried chives, oregano and cayenne pepper sauce. I subbed oatmeal for the grape nuts. I also omitted the bread crumbs and nuts. I blended 1 red bell pepper, 1 red onion, mushrooms and a handful of baby carrots in a cuisinart, and added that to the cooked lentils and oatmeal. Subbed egg whites. Grilled on a flat top grill....amazing, my whole family raved. I topped mine with avocado and tomato, but others were putting it on a bun with all the fixing of a traditional burger. Great base recipe that one can build on to suit their own needs! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babycakes19
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very tasty! I had never had lentils before (to my knowledge), but I'm trying to eat better and found this recipe. I didn't add walnuts. I couldn't find dry brown lentils at the store, but found the canned version (which would be easier because you don't have to do the first step). However, I noticed the texture of the mixture didn't hold up well and was falling apart and making a mess. So I added and extra egg (total of 3), which did the trick! It was delicious! I made a lettuce wrapped burger with onion, tomato, avocado, ketchup, and Dijon mustard. I would definitely make this again. My boyfriend and our roommate, who are both not keen on healthier food options, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babycakes19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
awful texture. the patties separated but the taste was pleasing so I just used it as a stir fried vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Never actually had lentil burgers work before! Great recipe as is, or I made a few tweaks: used oats instead of cereal. almond milk, replaced onion soup mix with my own seasoning, pecans instead of walnuts, and put the bread crumb into the mix instead. My 3 yr. old even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States