Lentil Cakes (Patties) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent on a whole wheat bun with bread and butter pickles and some lettuce. Definitely refrigerate for at least 1/2 hour after making this or they will be too soft and fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made recipe as written. Loved the walnuts and grape nut cereal in it. The onion soup mix and poultry seasoning not so much. When I eat something that looks like a hamburger, poultry seasoning throws me off - but that's just probably me. Next time will skip the mix and seasoning, use one egg and grate a small onion. Perhaps some garlic too. They reheat well in microwave in covered container with a touch of water or chicken stock. Will definitely make again with the seasoning changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe! Only change that I made was to cook them on our George Foreman Grill. Cooks in less than half the time and no 'fried' smell in the house. DEFINITELY a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asnunez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Great recipe! I served on whole wheat pocket bread (need a whole wheat to complete the protein) and topped with lettuce, tomatoes, green onions, cucumbers, lemon juice and olive oil. Cumin and cayenne are also nice additions before cooking the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My Aunt gave me a recipe book from 1950 with this basic recipe in it. I have used it all these years. It has a lovely taste and great crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Callahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a very good fritata. I am always surprised on this site how many people say: Very good but I changed it, I enjoyed it... but changed it. If you like the recipe, say so. If you changed it, then you aren't rating the recipe, you are submitting a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Huddleston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I've made this several times since I discovered it. We have triplet teens and both boys are strict vegetarians -- the rest of us eat only chicken/fish. We all consider the lentil burgers a genuine treat. I have used a small electric grinder to pulverize almonds (raw) instead of walnuts. I've also used cashew (raw or roasted with sea salt). Both are good. It's a great recipe to vary and it still comes out well. They can be "fragile" to handle when flattening into patties in bread crumbs and then put in the skillet. But they always turn out beautifully. We eat them like burgers, on thing whole wheat buns. Thanks, Susanne, and all those who comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Dry, and crumbly--don't make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Just OK as is. Make sure they are pressed very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
WAY too salty. I tried to fix it by adding extra bread crumbs and oatmeal. Now it was too dry...added this and that... Salt , wheat & frying....what was I thinking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States