Lenie's Herbal Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I really enjoyed this dish and would have been better if I had sauteed the zucchini, squash, olives and tomatoes (I didn't have time). The dish would have been even better with a little cayenne. It needed a little kick. The cod was good, but I think I'd like the dish better with salmon. I used 3 leeks instead of onions and used a whole green pepper, zucchini and squash instead of a half. The balsamic was a wonderful addition and should not be left out. We did not add cilantro because no one in the family really cares for it. Salt and pepper are critical and it will be incredibly bland if enough is not added (I salted and peppered both sides of the cod). I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Was ok, didnt really play up on the flavor and texture of the cod. Needs some garlic and maybe some spice, like red chili flakes. Thats what ill be using next time! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
The first time I tried this recipe, it was DELICIOUS! The second time I tried it... it wasn't what I would call delicious. The first time I made it, I used tilapia and the cut was thin. The second time, I used cod and they were thick. I think that's the clue to this recipe--buy thinly cut fish, or cut your thick fish lengthwise in half. If it's too thick, the flavor doesn't make its way into the fish. Also, the second time I made it, I forgot to layer the herbs, so all of them were on top! Which means that not much flavor made it to the bottom. When I made it the first time and it was awesome, I only used one onion, no shallots, and lots more zuccini and yellow squash than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is by far my favorite baked fish dish, make it several times for my husband family and not a drop of left over. Everybody loves it. Thank you for sharing the recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I didn't cook veggies first, just piled veggies on a sheet of foil, topped with fish, (seasoned salt and lots of pepper on fish) drizzled with evoo and balsamic (more balsamic to taste), sealed it up and popped in toaster convection oven. Used dried basil and cilantro cuz I was out of fresh. Didn't have the zucc but added in some broccoli, it worked. Served over brown rice. Really enjoyed it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We love vegetable combinations with fish and this one with the squash was great. I had lots of chives to use from garden so used them in greater quantities and skipped onions and shallots; used stuffed green olives instead of black; and only used fresh basil due to lack of other herbs. Added at least 1 tsp. red pepper flakes. It's been hot this week, and the leftovers were also good just at room temperature, served over steamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This fish is fairly easy to make and taste pretty good to. I only used 1 onion and it was plenty of onion. I also used a whole yellow squash and zucchini, but mine were on the small side. I did not have any chives so I left those out, but I'm not sure you need them with the onions and shallots. Thanks for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I was so pleased to see that my recipe was used and enjoyed. Let me share something very important about one of the ingredients....OLIVES, a very lovely taste is layered in with there usage and please enjoy lots of cilantro with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
While not a 5-star dish, which I take to mean "memorable," this is still very good. I halved the recipe for the two of us, and substituted Italian parsley for the cilantro. I also added some chunky portabella mushrooms and minced, fresh garlic. I wasn't sure how the Balsamic vinegar would fly in this recipe and was tempted not to use it. But in fairness to Lenie's recipe I did use it, and it was amazingly delicious! Eating this we felt we really were doing something healthy and good for our bodies--very little fat, few calories, nutritious vegetables, and the right type of carbs. We enjoyed this,and ate every last bit of it! Definitely worth making again, or trying for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States