Lemony Shrimp over Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent! This dish is so easy and simple, perfect for a weeknight meal. The only thing missing is some salt and pepper. I use unsalted butter and added 1/2 tsp. kosher salt and 1/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper. I always make my brown rice in the oven since I have better luck with that than the stovetop. Served with some sugar snap peas for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was very light and very yummy. I think the trick is using fresh parsley or cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'm a believer in following a new recipe to the letter for the first time and then adding my own flair to the dish. This recipe was phenomenal as is, but next time I might use some frozen peas or other complementary vegetable and/or perhaps pineapple. This is a very yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
you can't go wrong with this one. i make this at least once a week. each time i do, i alter it a bit to my liking. (either i add more chicken broth to make the recipe more "soupy" and sometimes, i just add a bit of baking soda to make it creamier). good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Heavenly! I have made this three times now. I used cooked shrimp. To prevent the shrimp from becoming tough, I added them at the very end after the cornstarch had been added and the sauce cooked to the desired thickness. Then I just cooked long enough to make sure the dish was heated throughout. This dish is a favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was great! I had to add some spice's to the sauce to add additional flavor, but other than that the recipe was fantastic! I received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
best thing i'v ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is good basic recipe. I used 2 cups of chicken broth rather than 1/2 c. wine, because we like it saucier. I added 2 more cloves of garlic, used only 1 tbsp of olive oil and added some bell peppers because I had some that needed to be used. I served it with crushed red pepper for the adults and everyone enjoyed it. It has a very lemony flavor. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Good but not great. My husband and I thought that the rice/sauce ratio was a little off. The dish was a little bland b/c there wasn't enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
used onions an cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States