Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I was unsure about the onion & celery being uncooked in this dish but made for a healthy dinner party with crab cakes and red pepper sauce. Perfect together and the quinoa was delicious and vegetable crunchy. I introduced quinoa to friends with this dish and they loved it. When serving, I packed it in a 1/2 cup measuring cup and it stayed molded on the plate. I topped it with a stem of rosemary and it was pretty and tasted wonderful. Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Yummy! I boiled my quinoa in stock, and found it a bit too intensely flavoured. Next time I'll use 1/2 water and 1/2 stock. I added chopped red pepper and cucumber as well as the zest of the lemon I squeezed. Very yummy salad, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good side dish. When I make it again, I'll add the spices to the water so the flavour blends into the grain, and since I'm not vegetarian, I'll use chicken stalk to increase the flavour. I don't like pine nuts & substituted whole cashews. I sauted the veggies & cashews in a little olive oil for a nice hot supper for myself while the family is away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wingham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this recipe as a side dish and it turned out great. Loved the crunchy texture and the bright lemony taste. The next day I added a little olive oil to the cold leftovers and that was my lunch. One thing I did do, after reading several articles on quinoa, was rinse it thoroughly before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! I didn't have any pine nuts, so I used some slivered almonds instead. I also left out the parsley, because I didn't have that either! Even with these changes, the quinoa turned out great and was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe; I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I loved this dish.....I did omit the celery and pine nuts since I didnt have any on hand...I did sautee the red onion,garlic, and a diced zucchini and added that to the cooked quinoa. Loved the lemon juice flavor and enhanced that by adding the zest of a lemon as well. Very fresh tasting. Very healthy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was the first time I prepared quinoa, and I won't be looking for other recipes... I did make some changes to the recipe that I will use the next time: I sauteed the vegetables (used a shredded zucchini in addition to the onion), added curry in addition to cumin (actually by accident - I grabbed the wrong "c" spice and it was added before I realized it) and used slivered almonds (that I browned in butter) in place of the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Now this is some pretty good stuff!!! I love the flavour of the lemon mixed with the spicyness of the cayenne pepper! I threw in some dried cranberries for good measure too - awesome meal! Thanks for the recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe. Healthy and delicious. I added the veggies and spices while it was still in the pot. Didn't have pine nuts, so used toasted pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I've never cooked quinoa at home before, but this recipe reminded me of one of my favorite dishes from a local restaurant, and I just had to try it. So glad I did! I thought the lemon was refreshing and tangy, but not overpowering (although I love lemon -- so maybe add bit by bit until you get the flavor you want.) I used cucumber instead of celery, added a little red bell pepper, and cooked the quinoa in half chicken broth-half water. I omitted the pine nuts since the recipe I was trying to recreate didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States