Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Very good side dish. When I make it again, I'll add the spices to the water so the flavour blends into the grain, and since I'm not vegetarian, I'll use chicken stalk to increase the flavour. I don't like pine nuts & substituted whole cashews. I sauted the veggies & cashews in a little olive oil for a nice hot supper for myself while the family is away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wingham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe. Healthy and delicious. I added the veggies and spices while it was still in the pot. Didn't have pine nuts, so used toasted pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Yummy! I boiled my quinoa in stock, and found it a bit too intensely flavoured. Next time I'll use 1/2 water and 1/2 stock. I added chopped red pepper and cucumber as well as the zest of the lemon I squeezed. Very yummy salad, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was ok, there is a better recipe for a similar type of dish that I've made before - which is DELICIOUS. This was fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is the first time I have eaten quinoa and it was a wonderful experience! I did make a few adjustments. I do not like pine nuts or celery so I omitted those ingredients. I was out of parsley so I used fresh spinach. I don't really care for the taste of cumin so I used just a pinch of it. It tasted amazing! Next time I am going to try it with parsley and I am sure it will be just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
First time making quinoa. I added chopped cucumber, a splash of olive oil, and a can of artichoke hearts, cut very small. Didn't have pinenuts or fresh parsley, used toasted walnut pieces and dried herb. Just realized I missed the cayenne and cumin, but I did add cracked black pepper. Served with high-quality canned salmon and extra lemon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I loved this dish.....I did omit the celery and pine nuts since I didnt have any on hand...I did sautee the red onion,garlic, and a diced zucchini and added that to the cooked quinoa. Loved the lemon juice flavor and enhanced that by adding the zest of a lemon as well. Very fresh tasting. Very healthy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was excellent! I had some left over pumpkin seeds so I toasted those and used them instead of pine nuts. The quinoa was a little dry... probably should've used more liquid while cooking but instead I just added some olive oil over the top of the finished salad. Next time I'll probably use green onions instead of red, just because my family likes a milder onion flavor. I would also like to try this using basil or maybe cilantro... though the cilantro might be too much with the lemon. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! I boiled my quinoa in reduced sodium chicken broth and added some sauteed zucchini and onions because I did not have (or particularly like the idea of ) the cold celery. i also added a dash of garlic powder and onion powder. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
What a great dish! I didn't have the parsley but it was still amazing! This is going to be one of my favorites that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcaballero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States