Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I have never had quinoa before and really wanted to try it. After searching around for a simple recipe, I came across this one. It turned out utterly delicious!!! I left out the pine nuts b/c I love them but they don't love me back :-( The celery gave the quinoa a nice crunch and I loved the lemon flavor mixed with the sea salt. I will try to make quinoa a few different ways, but I know this will be my go to recipe when I know I will get something good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I used walnuts instead of pinenuts, black pepper for cayenne pepper, and broth in place of water. I added carrots for sweetness and grated the peel of one lemon to give it a little more citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used 1/2 chicken stock, 1/2 water, added the cumin & cayenne pepper while the quinoa was cooking. I don't like onions so I also added a few dashes of onion powder while it was cooking. Omitted the fresh parsley as I didn't have any on hand. It could use a bit more flavor, but it was an easy, tasty and healthy dish that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I love this recipe and make it all the time, just as it is written. If you don't have the pine nuts, or have a nut allergy, it comes out just great without them (but better with them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
A wonderful and healthy recipe! We will deinitely try it again. I followed the recipe but just for fun and because I had the ingredients on hand I added diced sweet red pepper, diced black mission figs and chopped fresh basil. I took the hint from Cook471 and set it up on the plates in 1/2 cup molds topped with a basil leaf (the rosemary would have been prettier but I didn't have any fresh!) Someone suggested adding diced cucumber. Great idea especially for summer. I will do that the next time. Thanks for a refreshing & healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I thought this dish was delicious and quite healthy, But it didn't quite pass the kid and husband test. I made exactly as the recipe said, but I think next time I will use almonds instead of pine nuts, that was the only part I wasn't too thrilled about. May also add some extra veggies simply because we love veggies in this house. But otherwise very good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Good! But I made changes too. I used vegetable broth instead of water, I added zuccinni, green pepper and fresh garlic. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Wow, yummy dish. I subbed pecans for the pine nuts and kale for the parsley. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I did need to make quite a few changes to make it perfect for my family. First I found that it was a little dry and needed more flavor, so I doubled the amount of Lemon, and Cumin. I left the cayenne pepper the same since my children do not like spicy food. I also added Garlic, 1 tbsp of Lemon zest, 1 tbsp of sugar, 1 tsp olive oil, shredded carrots, red bell pepper, and grape tomatoes. I took out the pine nuts and cut the amount of parsley in half. I will normally serve it on a bed of arugula, with grilled chicken strips. I know it is a lot of changes, but this is a great base recipe that has become a family favorite and is always on the request list for neighborhood BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States