Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I would not recommend this to anyone. It tasted way too lemony and too spicy for kids to enjoy. I was surprised to see such good reviews. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is one of my favorite ways to make Quinoa! It's easy to make and terrific! I always have the ingredients on hand. And my kids enjoy it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
pretty good. i would make again, less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because the recipe should say "Serve 24-hours later." It's soooo much better the next day. Since the celery and onion aren't cooked, it's just too crunchy and raw to serve same-day. I also added a touch of olive oil. Other than that, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I have never had quinoa before and really wanted to try it. After searching around for a simple recipe, I came across this one. It turned out utterly delicious!!! I left out the pine nuts b/c I love them but they don't love me back :-( The celery gave the quinoa a nice crunch and I loved the lemon flavor mixed with the sea salt. I will try to make quinoa a few different ways, but I know this will be my go to recipe when I know I will get something good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I used walnuts instead of pinenuts, black pepper for cayenne pepper, and broth in place of water. I added carrots for sweetness and grated the peel of one lemon to give it a little more citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used 1/2 chicken stock, 1/2 water, added the cumin & cayenne pepper while the quinoa was cooking. I don't like onions so I also added a few dashes of onion powder while it was cooking. Omitted the fresh parsley as I didn't have any on hand. It could use a bit more flavor, but it was an easy, tasty and healthy dish that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I love this recipe and make it all the time, just as it is written. If you don't have the pine nuts, or have a nut allergy, it comes out just great without them (but better with them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
A wonderful and healthy recipe! We will deinitely try it again. I followed the recipe but just for fun and because I had the ingredients on hand I added diced sweet red pepper, diced black mission figs and chopped fresh basil. I took the hint from Cook471 and set it up on the plates in 1/2 cup molds topped with a basil leaf (the rosemary would have been prettier but I didn't have any fresh!) Someone suggested adding diced cucumber. Great idea especially for summer. I will do that the next time. Thanks for a refreshing & healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I thought this dish was delicious and quite healthy, But it didn't quite pass the kid and husband test. I made exactly as the recipe said, but I think next time I will use almonds instead of pine nuts, that was the only part I wasn't too thrilled about. May also add some extra veggies simply because we love veggies in this house. But otherwise very good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States