Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Our family loves this side dish with grilled salmon. I have a tough time finding/keeping from going rancid pine nuts so I usually omit them, but it's still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
not my cup of tea!! Very ethnic tasting/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I liked the taste of this, except for too much celery for our likes. When looking at the recipe I knew that was too much, so I cut the amount in half. Next time I'll cut it down a little more even. Using fresh-squeezed lemon juice is a must - very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This makes a great side dish or luncheon salad. I used toasted slivered almonds instead of pine nuts (can't get them easily out here), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. When adjusting the salt and pepper I realized that the dish absolutely required carrots; what a difference a little bit of chopped carrot made. Had leftovers right out of the fridge for lunch the next day -- great! Thanks, MBlassnig, for a delicious quinoa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Holy parsley!!! I only used a bit of the "bunch" of parsley and it overpowered the dish. I think all of the "stuff" overpowered the quinoa in this a bit, which would be nice if you don't like quinoa anyway. I followed the recipe in that I didn't cook the onions and celery. Perhaps that is why they were a little overpowering. Might try sauteing a bit before adding next time or just adding a bit less. I'll definitely add a lot less parsley next time! Also, I forgot to get the pine nuts so I ended up using sliced almonds. Very good with these as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I didn't have any pine nuts, but other than that I followed the recipe. I really didn't care for this. It was bland. All that really came through was the lemon juice. We reheated leftovers with some shredded cheddar cheese on top and that helped a lot, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent! I would only suggest more pine nuts. I have never cooked with pine cuts before and now I love them. I cooked the quinoa with a little bit of Knorr chicken powder and with the cumin. I also love cumin a lot so I added some after anyway. I usually add more lemon to recipes than required, but this one doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Really good! Used toasted pecans in place of the pine nuts. Added a dash of curry as someone else suggested. Also cooked quinoa in half water, half chicken broth. Very good recipe; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortcut
Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing! Delicious! Works great cold or warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious and tasty. I doubled for a potluck and it was all gone. A really great side dish to have for your friends who cannot eat wheat & for vegetarians. I used the tri-color quinoa from Trader Joes and as suggested, chicken broth instead of water. This recipe is sort of like a taboulleh for quinoa. I did add an entire diced English cuc & three plum tomatoes, and not quite as much parsley as called for, about 1/2 c and salt. Lots of color and great taste! A great way to use this grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States