Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This has been my go-to quinoa recipe for a while now. However, I skip on the celery and instead I like to broil asparagus or artichoke hearts in olive oil, salt and pepper, and fresh grated reggiano. I chop it up and throw it in there instead. Sometimes I throw in chick peas and red beans for some protein. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Delicious! Great Side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
My kids didn't like this and I thought it was only "ok". The cumin overpowered the dish and we couldn't taste the lemon. Don't know if I'd make this again, I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was delicious! After reading the reviews, here are my adjustments: I used more lemon because I really like it, and I also used the zest from the lemon. I used 1 c water and 1 c stock for more flavor. I sauteed the onion and celery in a little olive oil, and added the spices to this, to give them a chance to become fragrant and release their flavors. Since it was my first time making quinoa, I rinsed it as I've heard to do. I'm not sure what difference it makes, but I do know people that use quinoa a lot swear by rinsing it before use. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Quick. Easy. Great flavor. I did add a little less lemon and added a little chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Really good recipe! I made a couple of changes. I cooked the quinoa in stock and quickly sautéed the celery and onion. Because I love lemon, I added some more lemon juice and lemon zest. I don't typically have pine nuts on hand, so I used the slivered almonds suggested by another reader. I turned out fantastic and I've had it as a cold lunch salad all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
It's delicious! I didn't have the pine nuts, and I used whole cumin seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I didn't use celery stalks, instead I used celery salt to taste, about 1-2 tsp. Also, I used Knorr chicken stock powder to make the stock for the quinoa, turned out great. I also added the lemon to taste. I added a bit to the water/stock and than added some more while mixing. To make this highly nutritious I added edamame, peas, avocado and spinach, all to preference. It's a great dish! This is one of those recipes where you can just make over and over again. It's easy, quick, and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I really liked the recipe. I normally do not like lemony dishes, but I thought that this was well-balanced. My four year old liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I love this recipe, already made it a 2nd time. I couldn't find pine nuts, so I subbed with roasted sunflower seeds, and added a garlic clove on 2nd batch. I also sauted the celery & onion breifly. This is yummy warm or cold. I served the rest of the batch I made yesterday cold on a bed of baby spinach leaves for a side dish to go with dinner. Will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States