Lemony Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I found these muffins not lemony enough, I used 3 medium lemons. Also there were too many poppy seeds and the muffins were a little dry. I also found the recipe made 18 medium sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The muffins turned out quite nice. I cut out some of the sugar (I always do because most things are too sweet for my taste) but in this case I should have just used the amount of sugar it called for. They would have turned out great! I think I will use a bit more lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe, I double this recipe and only had 2 1/2 lemons. Had a nice lemon flavour but would use the recommended amount next time. Also thought I had lots of poppy seeds but couldn't find them so I used 1/2 poppy seeds and 1/2 chia seeds. Also used whole wheat flour and 1 c of oatmeal to replace the white flour. They turned out great soft and moist on the inside and a nice crispy layer on the outside. I made mini muffins so the kids could bring them to school for snacks. They were a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Delicious! We have made this recipe three times now. We used fat free greek yogurt and an addition of 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract is tasty. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made a double batch of these, and they are delicious! I only had 2 1/2 lemons on hand so I only ended up with 1/2 cup of lemon juice, and I used 2 TB of lemon zest. I will definitely use this recipe again, but I will probably do at least 3/4 c. of lemon juice for a double batch next time. I also had vanilla greek yogurt on hand and they were still fluffy and delicious. I baked my muffins for 2 minutes less than the suggested time to prevent them turning too brown or dry. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wonderful, yet they weren't exactly what I expected. The consistency was light and they aren't too sweet. The lemon flavor was not over whelming but pleasant. I had enough batter to make 12 plus 4 mini muffins. The regular sized muffins were full of batter when I put them in the oven and rose to just the right level. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kylene
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious! My husband loves lemon poppyseed muffins, so it decided to make him happy and bake some for breakfast this morning. I used nonfat Greek yogurt because it's what I had. I thought the thick consistency of the batter would make for dense muffins, but they were very light, moist and delicious. I only had several small lemons, which I used, but next time I'm sure the two large lemons will yield the right amount of lemony-ness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Awesome lemon flavor!! I only had one lg lemon which I juiced and got 1/3c lemon juice. I grated the rind into the wet ingredients-maybe a tsp or so. I added bottled lemon juice to make 1/2 c total (I had read that the avg lemon has about 1/4c juice) I think fresh lemon made all the difference. Next time I will use 2 fresh lemons. I ended up with a ton of batter so I made 18 muffins, which turned out somewhat small so next time I'll make 12. The taste of these is amazing- moist and lemony!! I'll never use a mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States