Lemony Lentils with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
That was so good! I ate a whole bowl before I realized I didn't put any lemon in it so I didn't end up putting any in. I only used 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper because my children do not like anything spicy. It was still a little spicy for them but my husband and I loved it! I also used a sprouted bean medley instead of just lentils because that is what I had on had. Loved this recipe! Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. It's very flavorful, fresh and the red pepper gives it just the right kick/warmth. It's perfect for a cold, winter night when you want something hearty but also healthy. Had two bowls right off the bat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Just what I was looking for! Always looking for a way to cook the seasons best from the farmers market. Served with Grilled Chicken Kabobs from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Excellent and simple! I made as written except I omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
OH Man!!! This is very tasty. Will be included as one of my FAVES. Easy on the pepper flakes and lemon...start with half listed and add more later according to individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is the first recipe I have ever reviewed, out of hundreds tried. Thought it would be worth my time and to help premote the reviews I have to say this is quick, easy and healthy and very very tasty! It's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for dinner last night. Totally divine! I followed the directions but here are the minor changes that I made: I didn't have fresh thyme so I substituted approx 1/2 t of dried thyme, rosemary and italian seasoning. I also threw in some mushrooms since I had some laying around. I also used red lentils instead of green because that's what I had. This tastes so good - the lemony citrus with the pepper flakes makes such a great combinations. I suspicious husband tried it gingerly - and ended up going back for more twice! I highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! Tasty, healthy and filling. I made changes to suit what I had availabe. Don't know if it was dinosaur kale - I just used a big thick leafy kale with red veins. If you fold the leaf in 1/2 you can cut right down the big middle rib to take it out. Then roll up the leaf and cut it up into strips that way. I also used 2 carrots instead of 1, and substituted 1/2 tsp of dried thyme leaves for the fresh. In step 2 - I used one 19 0z can of rinsed and drained lentils, then added them in with 1 x 19 0z can of diced undrained tomatos, skipped the chicken stock all together as my lentils were already cooked from being canned. Then after that heated up a few minutes I added the kale and cooked it for 5 minutes or so. I also only added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice as my boyfriend doesn't like a strong lemon flavor and you could still taste the lemon with the juice from 1/2 of a lemon in this. Was still excellent with these changes and ready in a much shorter timeframe so was very easy and fast to get this on the table. 15-20 minutes from start to finish. I also served it with a baked chicken breast and toasted ciabiatta buns. It would go very well with pork also if you wanted to add meat to your plate. But this recipe is very good on its own too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is my go-to recipe when I'm craving comfort food but want to eat healthy. It's a great one-pot dish and is filling and flavourful enough that I can convince my boyfriend to go meat-free for a meal (well, almost - if you don't count the chicken stock!). Instead of a crusty baguette, I scoop it up with pumpkin seed and oat ryvita crispbreads. It's even better the next day for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Wow! This is so good. The only canned tomatoes I had were Rotel brand with green chiles, so I used that and left out the crushed red pepper. I served this over quinoa. Perfectly nutritious and delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States