Lemony Lentils with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is a lot better than I had expected it to be. I used 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme in lieu of sprigs, added 1/2 teaspoon of rosemary and used 2 teaspoons lemon peel and 1/4 cup lemon juice instead of a zesting /juicing a lemon. I was really, really impressed. There are several distinct, yet not overpowering flavors in this dish. While like most vegetarian dishes this was a bit, well, mushy, the kale was a nice addition. I may throw in some extra diced carrot at the end for crunch next time. Definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
That was so good! I ate a whole bowl before I realized I didn't put any lemon in it so I didn't end up putting any in. I only used 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper because my children do not like anything spicy. It was still a little spicy for them but my husband and I loved it! I also used a sprouted bean medley instead of just lentils because that is what I had on had. Loved this recipe! Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Just what I was looking for! Always looking for a way to cook the seasons best from the farmers market. Served with Grilled Chicken Kabobs from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! Tasty, healthy and filling. I made changes to suit what I had availabe. Don't know if it was dinosaur kale - I just used a big thick leafy kale with red veins. If you fold the leaf in 1/2 you can cut right down the big middle rib to take it out. Then roll up the leaf and cut it up into strips that way. I also used 2 carrots instead of 1, and substituted 1/2 tsp of dried thyme leaves for the fresh. In step 2 - I used one 19 0z can of rinsed and drained lentils, then added them in with 1 x 19 0z can of diced undrained tomatos, skipped the chicken stock all together as my lentils were already cooked from being canned. Then after that heated up a few minutes I added the kale and cooked it for 5 minutes or so. I also only added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice as my boyfriend doesn't like a strong lemon flavor and you could still taste the lemon with the juice from 1/2 of a lemon in this. Was still excellent with these changes and ready in a much shorter timeframe so was very easy and fast to get this on the table. 15-20 minutes from start to finish. I also served it with a baked chicken breast and toasted ciabiatta buns. It would go very well with pork also if you wanted to add meat to your plate. But this recipe is very good on its own too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is the first recipe I have ever reviewed, out of hundreds tried. Thought it would be worth my time and to help premote the reviews I have to say this is quick, easy and healthy and very very tasty! It's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Really great side dish - I used dried thyme and added one jalapeño (omitted the red pepper flakes) to add some color and heat. I also added two more carrots. This could be a great meal if you add some roasted sweet potato and/or grilled mushrooms! Some reviewers complained about the lentils being mushy. To prevent this, check them at 30-35mins. Mine were ready to eat after only a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpariser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very tasty! A little less liquid (or a few more lentils) and this will be a 5 star recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Wow! This is so good. The only canned tomatoes I had were Rotel brand with green chiles, so I used that and left out the crushed red pepper. I served this over quinoa. Perfectly nutritious and delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Love this recipe, I make it almost once a week. The only real change that I make is to use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
pretty dang good! My daughter did NOT like this but both me & my husband did. I halved the lemon juice & red pepper flakes. I let everyone added more if they wanted it. I also used 1/2 cup less of broth. I also added a few sliced shrooms. Served it with quinoa and a baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States